Product Reviews

True Blue Spa Moisturizing Gradual Tanner with Aloe Vera - Glow & Steady

Average Customer Rating:
3.308 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
8 of 13(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for True Blue Spa Moisturizing Gradual Tanner with Aloe Vera - Glow & Steady
Review 1 for Moisturizing Gradual Tanner with Aloe Vera - Glow & Steady
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:Emyem1102
Location: Georgia
I am a: Spa Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: February 7, 2014
Good natural tan!
"This is my first time using a self tanner, and I was very pleased. I took pictures of my face, arms, legs, and stomach before I used it the first time so I can look back after a while so I could see a change. I noticed that when I was doing my arms I could actually see a little change already, but it will take time to get a full achievement of what you want. When I lifted the cap and smelled it, it smelled like vanilla, but when I put it in my hands it didn't smell so pleasant. But over all for a good tanner for first or long timer it works good."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Moisturizing Gradual Tanner with Aloe Vera - Glow & Steady
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:snowgirlja
Location: Chattanooga, TN
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: July 16, 2013
VERY Disappointed
"Was looking for a new self-tanner because the one I used was discontinued. I am very skilled in applying on my face, neck, and elbows so I didn't have a problem with streaking or any orange color. I exfoliated as directed before using. The directions tell you not to exfoliate until 4 days has passed, which is a good thing because this product just doesn't last long. The first four days, the color was VERY gradual to develop. After I exfoliated again, the color came faster and was a nice color. Exfoliating took all the color, so I had to start all over again. So I went from a nice tan to white all in one evening. Also, this product washes off too much when you shower. I found myself having to apply every day because too much would wash away. I needed something like I use to have that you only needed to use 2-3 times a week. Takes a long time to dry. Whatever you do, do not sweat when using this product. The inside of my shirt is now brown along with my bra straps. I won't buy it again because I want a product that I don't have to apply every day (time consuming) and wait to dry. Plus I want to know that I can go out in public and not worry about sweating. Who wants to be tan if they have to stay inside and can't go to an amusement park, swimming, or to a gym. TOO EMBARRASSING!!!!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Moisturizing Gradual Tanner with Aloe Vera - Glow & Steady
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:ShellBeach
Location: Michigan
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: monthly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: July 13, 2013
Not too shabby
"I'll be honest- I use BOTH "Glow & Steady" and "Strike Gold" to get my tan. I have untannable legs- they don't tan, no matter what I do. They reflect light in pictures if I don't give them a faux glow. So I'm very, very pale.
I don't mind Glow & Steady, but compared to Strike Glow I have ONE issue with it: this one takes up more of a "self tanner" smell after a few hours. So I definitely opt to use this one before bed and shower in the morning to rinse it off, or I'd walk around smelling funky.
It's never turned me orange. I always use it for a few days to give me a "base" to put Strike Gold over so I don't suddenly to from "ghost" to "golden". So I kind of suggest getting both unless people in your life won't make comments about a dramatic shift in color.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Moisturizing Gradual Tanner with Aloe Vera - Glow & Steady
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Brittttt
Location: Keyser, WV
I am a: Beauty Naturalist
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: June 20, 2013
My boyfriend and I were both impressed!
"I was quite scared to begin using such a product. Many people turn yellow or look rather fake. But I gave true blue a shot, and I'm glad I did! I must mention I am a rather pale person but once I used true blue, I got a tan for the first time! It didn't make me look too dark but it wasn't unnoticeable either. Only thing I had a problem with was it made the palms of my hands turn orange. You really wanna keep them wiped and washed to prevent this! It does go away if you don't use the product for a day or so though :) I plan to continuously use this product"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Moisturizing Gradual Tanner with Aloe Vera - Glow & Steady
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:beachlovey
Location: Los Angeles, California
I am a: Beauty Maven
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: June 9, 2013
pasty pale to tan goddess
"I am really pale so I was terrified of self tanner for the longest time. I finally decided to try this and it is amazing! it gives me a very nice really natural looking tan. Also, it does not smell bad like other self tanners. Love Love Love! this stuff makes me look prettier and feel more self confident!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Moisturizing Gradual Tanner with Aloe Vera - Glow & Steady
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Libbyxoxo1995
Location: New Jersey
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: May 8, 2013
Works Fabulously!
"I perchased this product to get some color as a base, before my senior prom. I've been using it for over a week now and it's awesome! I doesn't make me look orange or too dark. I have very light skin, and my "tan" looks very natural. :)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Moisturizing Gradual Tanner with Aloe Vera - Glow & Steady
Overall Overall Rating Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:kmaria
Location: BC, Canada
Posted: April 20, 2013
Wouldn't Recommend
"I've been using the Jergens Natural Glow lotion for about a year now, but i decided to try something different because i noticed it was starting to irritate my skin. I read the mixed reviews on this and was unsure about trying it, but figured i might as well because there was a deal going on with other products i was buying. I tried this ONCE, and it came out so streaky and uneven i didn't want to use it again. I was pretty careful applying it and i never had trouble with streakiness using Jergens. So weird. My friend also bought it and she says it works better for her so it might depend on skin type or how generously you apply it. I'll probably try it again just to make sure but definitely beware that you have to be VERY careful of streakiness with this product. The smell is generally better than Jergens."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Moisturizing Gradual Tanner with Aloe Vera - Glow & Steady
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Merih
Location: New York
I am a: Luxury Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: September 24, 2012
Works nicely
"I got a nice glow after 3-4 days of using this product, my skin is really soft after, and it smells decent (just like any other tanning lotion)
However, this made me breakout so badly on my back and my chest, I don't know why but after I started using this product I got blemishes on my back and my front.
I'd recommend this if you do not have sensitive skin, but it works perfectly with me, keep in note that I had a light tan from before.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Moisturizing Gradual Tanner with Aloe Vera - Glow & Steady
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:kyrayne
Location: Woodstock, GA
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: June 21, 2012
What Happened?
"I've been using this product for years and LOVED it, because it had SPF. I always received compliments on my skin. People asked if I used a self tanning product or not because my skin looked so natural. In the new Glow and Steady, where's the SPF to protect your skin? I'm amazed the company would choose to take it away when we are more skin cancer conscious. It's too bad... it was the only product out there with a self tanner and an SPF in one. Seriously, let's put some thought into this...... In the morning you apply self tanner, then later, you decide to do an activity outside for a couple of hours. This means you have to put sun screen on top of your self tanner.......yuck! Please bring the old Glow and Steady back and bump up the SPF to 20..... we know you can do it ;)"
16 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Moisturizing Gradual Tanner with Aloe Vera - Glow & Steady
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:ProductQueen
Location: McKinney, TX
I am a: Beauty Maven
Usage: weekly
Something I: gave as a gift
Posted: April 26, 2012
Works
"First off, True Blue Spa products are formulated for sensitive skin which is great. Second, I like this product because it allows you to control your shade of tan.
How to get the BEST results:
*With ANY self tanner or spray tan, it is important to exfoliate. This removes dead skin so you will get an even tan. Exfoliating also allows skin to receive moisture better.
*Use on dry skin
*Moisturize knees, elbows, hands, and feet before using. These areas are the driest and will therefore absorb the most product. Moisturizing before using a self tanner prevents these areas from becoming too dark
I find this product, and any other self tanner, looks the most natural on those who already have a base tan or warm skin tone. This product will not make you look orange. It can also be applied as many times a day as you wish until you achieve your desired color (I usually only apply once a day). Color will develop after about 4-6 hours. Tan will start to fade in 3-5 days.
*There is a "self tan" odor to this, but not as strong as a lot of others I have tried. I highly recommend this product. I use this product at night so it has a full 8 hours to do its work."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Moisturizing Gradual Tanner with Aloe Vera - Glow & Steady
Overall Overall Rating Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:Anonymous
Location: Bethesda, MD
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: March 28, 2012
DOES NOT WORK
"I dont understand how there are 9 reviews here and some of them are actually braving about the product. I've been using it for about 2 weeks now and it has NOT worked. M hands are now orange however my legs are still pasty. Im not sure why its not working but the old SHADE TO ORDER formula was PERFECT. Overnight, my legs turned a beautiful tan. I dont know why they took it off, probably because the product worked too well, it would beat out competitors.
The smell is the the same, not a great smell but it goes away. (not the smell on your hands however)
The price is too expensive for such a small bottle, that doesnt work. PS. for the individuals who say its streaky, its only because you dont apply it on evenly. The product IS moisturizing but thats about it.
PLEASE BRING BACK THE SHADE TO ORDER, MY WHOLE CHEER TEAM DEPENDS ON IT! PLEASE OR MAKE SOMETHING SIMILAR TO IT, THAT WORKS!!!"
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Moisturizing Gradual Tanner with Aloe Vera - Glow & Steady
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:toriaa
Location: USA
I am a: Spa Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: March 19, 2012
Works Amazingly!
"I bought this product a few days ago, since i love the True Blue Spa brand. Their products have NEVER failed me. I applied this after exfoliating and after about 3 applications, I already started seeing a difference! It's not too much of an orange-y color, and it looks very natural. I starting using this on Saturday, and on Monday, my friends were complimenting me on my "tan". It doesn't smell GREAT, but it's not horrible, and the smell fades fast so you won't have to worry about it interfering with any perfume/ body sprays that you use. May I also add that it makes your skin INCREDIBLY smooth!! My skin is soooo soft after one application. I absolutely love this product. <3
Note: I have a medium tan naturally, so those of you with lighter skin will probobly need to be more careful with this product when applying it because streaks and such will be more noticeable.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Moisturizing Gradual Tanner with Aloe Vera - Glow & Steady
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:raleigh
Location: the South
I am a: Indulgent Pampering Seeker
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: February 20, 2012
Changed a wonderful product
"I've used this for years and have LOVED the way it works. I was also so glad that it had a sunscreen in it. This "new and improved" version does not have the sunscreen. The old was a win/win product.: great color and protection. I'm looking for something with sunscreen."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.