Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Bath & Body Works.

True Blue Spa Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold

Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
24 of 26(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for True Blue Spa Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Review 1 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Jess21
Location: Utah
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: November 13, 2011
IMPRESSED!
"I have been tanning in a tanning bed for years. I have used so many products, and this by far is the best I have ever used. I haven't been in the tanning bed for a few months now, and the color I achieved from this was amazing! I am so impressed. I am normally fair skinned, and this gave me great color. No streaks, just follow as it says on the bottle. Mixed with face moisturizer (half and half) and it works great as well. My new fave product, thanks Bath and Body works!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Maryk822
Location: SC
Posted: November 3, 2012
Great stuff
"Love it, the smell doesn't bother me at all, no transfer of color to my clothes. Seems to keep my skin from getting dry ! TRY IT"
Review 3 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:JSFF
Location: Philadelphia
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: August 27, 2012
Sunless and happy! Please improve drying time!
"I agree with the other reviewers. I have been very happy with this product EXCEPT that it washes off after every shower. This, in itself, wouldn't be that big a deal, but it takes a good 30-40 to dry when you put it on. This is the real problem. Who has an extra 30-40 minutes for drying time every day? I read other reviews that said 15 minutes to dry. Perhaps I am applying more than they are???? It does come off on my sports bra when I work out, but surprisingly, it washes right out!"
Review 4 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:Pale Lady
Location: Indiana
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: July 2, 2012
I LOVE this tanner!
"I'm a German fair skinned girl. I burn if I'm out in the sun for two hours. I've tried multiple self tanners out there and I always end up with streaks, spots, orange hands, and smelling like dirty feet. I bought this to try to give my VERY pale skin some color for a wedding I attended. I put it on before bed. I woke up to tan skin! I did smell a bit in the morning but no where near as bad as most self tanners ( I took a shower and it was all good). The fact that this is tan, really helps you know what places you haven't covered. It I worried it might make me a bit too tan and not at all! I was tan enough for (the tan) to be noticed but not orange or fake looking. I even used it on my face with some face moisturizer. It was perfect! I wish this was a bit cheaper but it definitely is worth it for special events and perfect for people who burn very easily. I super recommend this product!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Kell21
Location: North Jersey
I am a: Beauty Naturalist
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: June 21, 2012
Shockingly AMAZING!!!
"I bought this product yesterday after reading the amazing reviews. I have VERY pale skin with lots of freckles- the only way I get any kind of color is when my freckles combine and make one HUGE one! I've tried many self tanning products with 0 success. I usually end up with blotchy, streaky, orange skin and a very unpleasant smell that I can't stand! This product was very easy to apply. I like that the lotion is dark this way you can see where you haven't applied any yet. I was pleasantly surprised with the smell at first. After I let it settle for a while ( I applied it before bed) that's when that all too familiar smell of self tanner started to kick in. Much to my surprise I woke up this morning to amazing BRONZE , not orange, skin. After showering the smell completely disappeared- Thank God. It's like it was never there. Which, could quite possibly be my favorite thing of all about this cream! Sitting here typing this now I'm still in shock as to how nice the color came out. I look like your supposed to look after a day by the pool, but never do cause I'm usually a red lobster!
If you're thinking about trying this- DO IT! Take it from someone who has been orange and smelly far too many times- This stuff really works. I'm very pleased and will be buying it again!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:amzing
Location: St. Paul, MN
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: June 16, 2012
Really amazing!
"I saw this in a store with a friend and I wanted to buy it but decided to look at the reviews first. They all said it was a really good product, so I bought it and I LOVE IT. The color is pretty good I think, not orange but still dark. It was there in about 3-4 hours. I missed a few spots while applying, but it's really easy to see where you are applying the lotion. I'm not crazy about the smell, but I think it's decent, I just sprayed some perfume and I was good. GET THIS PRODUCT THE COLOR IS AMAZING AND WORKS REALLY FAST"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:imabbwgirl
Location: Grasonville, MD
I am a: Low Maintenance
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: May 31, 2012
buy this product!
"I love this self tanner! I have very pale skin that burns easy and and a family history of melanoma so tanning beds are a defenite no for me. This product has been my savior the past 2 summers! It gives me the best color of any product I have ever tried, and I have tried quite a few. I get a very natural warm tan color that looks completely natural. I revently gave a presentation to college students on the dangers of tanning beds and used pictures of girls who had used tanning beds vs. ones who had used strike gold and no one could tell the difference! I use the Mailbu body scrub first, followed by Lay it on Thick on my elbows, knees, and ankles. As other reviewers have said, I also mix a little in with my normal face lotion and apply to my face. I also have skin that breaks out easy and have had no problems with this product. I would HIGHLY recommend it!"
Review 8 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:cyparisse
Location: Worcester, MA
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: May 1, 2012
Not bad!
"Overall this is not bad for a self tanner. I have used it once so far and I used it as directed. I loved the color, not orangey at all. I do have a bit of a base tan since I was going in the tanning beds, so not sure if that helped. I put on a white shirt today for work on purpose, which was the ultimate test for me. It passed with flying colors! Nothing came off onto my clothes. The smell at first was ok. Now that I have had it on for a few hours though it has that fake tan smell and I can smell myself. So that I am not crazy about, but the color and the fact it didn't transfer to my clothing makes this product well worth it to me!"
Review 9 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Michelle D
Location: Houston, TX
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: April 26, 2012
Best bronzer out there!
"I have been an avid tanner all of my life. When I finally realized I'm not invincible, and I could get skin cancer (and with the help of family members), I cut my tanning rituals in more than half. So, because I love to be tan, I went on a search for self-tanners. After many brands, this is by far THE BEST! It doesn't stink, it dries quickly, your tan doesn't look fake, it doesn't stain your clothes, and you won't get skin cancer! It is far better priced than many out there and SO VERY WORTH IT! I will forever use this product..not to mention all of B&BW lotions! BEST. STORE. EVER."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Crissa
Location: Bristol, Tn
I am a: Spa Lover
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: April 23, 2012
LOVE!
"I have been paying alot of $$$ to go to a salon to get spray tans, then I found this product! This is the darkest, best looking tan I have ever had. I am red headed and have alot of freckles. I have never gotten so tan until using this product. The price is great, the smell is beachy and the apllication is easy. Will highly recommend to anyone that wants a great sunless tan!"
Review 11 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:BunnyKristin
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: March 8, 2012
My gawd, this is a miracle.
"Hey, I'm pale as all get out. I've tried tons of different lotions and sprays, but my goodness, this stuff actually works and DOESN'T make my skin orange. This is the best product I have ever used, and i wont get skin cancer!
TIP: apply lotion to any joints area, like the elbows or at the ankles and feet, and on your knuckles, or else the tanner will sit in the cracks and look like you do have a fake tan, but this is for any tanner you use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Anonymous
Location: Taylor, Michigan
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: February 29, 2012
Best self tanner ever
"I was a tanning salon and sun addict for several years until I was diagnosed with skin cancer and several pre-cancer last year. I don't like being pale as I have been tan my whole life. I have tried numerous self tanners and this is by far the best and most natural looking tan ever. I would highly recommend it to everyone. The only downfall, it does tend to come off on clothes if its not completely dry. Wait 20-30 minutes before dressing.
It is safe and efficient, I LOVE IT!!!!
"
Review 13 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Leah18
Location: scottsdale, az
I am a: Spa Lover
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: February 13, 2012
fantastic color
"I agree with the other wonderful comments, but I still can';t get a smooth, natural finish around my feet and ankles.
TIP: wear thin latax gloves to apply. keeps your hand and fingers clean
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:lasun
Location: Vancouver, BC
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: February 9, 2012
The absolute BEST
"I have been using this self-tanner for years (5+) and I honestly do not know what I would do without it. It is not streaky whatsoever, looks much more natural than many products on the market, and does not have that "self-tanner" smell. I've got my mom, my pasty best friend, and HER mom hooked on this product over the years. Check it out, especially with spring creeping around the corner!"
Review 15 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Smasha
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
I am a: Indulgent Pampering Seeker
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: February 3, 2012
AWESOME!
"I love this product!! But I do have a little bit of advice!
Do a patch test first to ensure that it does not turn orange on you. As far as I know this is the best self tanner and anyone that I know that has tried it has not turned orange. Make sure to apply a decent amount to ensure the best results. The first patch test I did, I did not apply enough product and I did not see a change. But the second patch test I applied a thicker coat and it worked perfect! I did not wait long enough for the product to dry the first time around and it ended up rubbing off on my clothes. But I did not see the it affected the results of my tan. My clothes just felt a little damp for the rest of the day. I would wait a good 20-30 minutes before putting your clothes back on, it will till rub off on your clothes a little. BUT like I said it will not affect the final result of the tan.
For my face, I did not want to apply the lotion on its own so I added a little of my regular face cream to the self tanner and it seems to be working really well.
My last bit of advice would be to apply one layer with a decent amount of product, let is dry and wait the 4 hours for it to develop. Shower the next day and some of the product will come off but it won't be blotchy or anything. It looks really nice! I was not happy with the level of darkness so I ended up applying another thin coat the next day and I am extremely happy with the results!!!!
HAPPY TANNING! :)"
Review 16 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:LissaY
Location: Flint, TX
I am a: Spa Lover
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: February 1, 2012
Impressed
"Every self tanner/bronzing tanner I have used always ends up streaky and looks horrible the next day. This tanning lotion was the first one that I found that didn't look streaky the next day and gave just the right amount of color. I will be purchasing this again and have already suggested it to several friends. ♥"
Review 17 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Rach25
Location: KC
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 9, 2012
LOVES IT!
"I am a spray-tan addict and I haven't had to get one in a month because this self-tanning lotion is so fabulous! I only went into Bath & Body because I had a gift card from Christmas, but I will be retuning to purchase this product for months to come. The buy 2, get 2 didn't hurt either! REALLY great product, love the instant tan. A++++++"
Review 18 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:anic
Location: Illinois
I am a: Beauty Naturalist
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 2, 2012
AWESOME
"I can't say enough about this self tanner. I have tried both high and low end self tanners and this is by far the best. The color is noticable within hours and the smell isn't over bearing. As long as you keep your skin moisturized, this lotion is so believable. I just bought several more bottles with the buy two get two free sale. A definate must have for one who enjoys a SAFE skin kissed glow all winter long:)"
Review 19 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:JodyZ
Location: Toledo Ohio area
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: December 31, 2011
great product
"My daughter 1st tried this product and it looked good on her fair skin so I bought some for myself. I've tried other tanning products and feel this is the best. I like how it looks natural, dries fast, doesn't streak, or doesn't stain your clothing! The only thing I don't care much for is the scent, but I can deal with it for the results it leaves. I'll be using this all winter long to keep those Northwest Ohio grays skies seem blue."
Review 20 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:StarLineShopSVU
Location: Ohio
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: monthly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: December 10, 2011
100% worth it!
"I bought three of these over the summer and I love them! I love all of the True Blue products soo much. I try to use it weekly, but i rarely have time. It doesn't look fake unless you use a ton, and you have to read the directions! READ THE DIRECTIONS! It works wonders if you read the directions, and don't make it obvious that you tan. I only use it because my skin only burns, it doesn't tan. I LOVE THIS!! :)"
120 of 26 Reviews