Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Signature Collection Shower Gel - Black Amethyst

A hypnotic blend of bergamot & camellias--available only online!
Average Customer Rating:
4.905 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
21 of 21(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Signature Collection Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Review 1 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Ryghas
Location: Wisconsin, WI
I am a: Low Maintenance
Posted: April 19, 2014
Second Most Unique Scent at BBW in My Opinion
"This is a wonderful scent. I hate really sweet florals and such. Can't stand them. THIS is feminine with floral, but it's so unique! It is a heavier scent, which I love. It is quite a sophisticated scent. If you want something a bold, confident, feminine scent without being too sickly sweet, I recommend this. (Midnight Pomegranate is another good one.)"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:btfly400
Location: Mid Atlantic States
I am a: Luxury Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: March 25, 2014
Best Scent Ever
"Why Bath and Body Works decided to cut this from their regular product line is beyond me and totally insane! Black Amethyst is one of the best scents out there and Bath and Body Works won an award for this product too. Nonetheless, I am glad that we can still purchase this on-line, however there is no EDT, or travel size products which is very annoying. Message to Bath and Body Works! Please bring back the entire line of Black Amethyst!
This scent is very high end department store quality scent and is great for days when you need more confidence. It has undertones of spice, slight hints of floral and a little vanilla. The shower gel is really nice and also doubles as bubble bath, actually this is superior to the new line bubble baths as the quality is much better.
Thanks for reading."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:shopper7737
Location: Mt. Sterling, Kentucky
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: February 4, 2014
Best Fragrance Available
"In my opinion, this is the best fragrance available. It does contain some floral notes, but is not florally overloaded. It actually smells like a high end feminine fragrance that you would purchase in a department store. I receive tons of compliments on it. I only wish I had experienced its full potential when it was available in the store and in all varieties. I have just a little of the eau de toilet left and I am using it sparingly. At least, we can still obtain it in the shower gel and lotion. Please BBW, bring it back in the full product line."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Mariska
Location: East Coast, USA
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: January 26, 2014
"It's a gorgeous scent, romantic and exotic. A bit spicy, a bit floral. And it lathers well and rinses well. A definite repurchase."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Allen at home
Location: Texas
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 20, 2014
Mysterious and Addictive
"When I first smelled Black Amethyst from the bottle in the store a few years ago, I hated that initial floral blast, which was quite strong! But after reading such good reviews about it, I decided to try again. (As a guy, I never liked florals anyway, but am always searching for something interesting and different to wear instead of the same old, boring mens colognes.) I ordered the Black Amethyst shower gel on sale, and that initial floral blast is still there, but seems to fade almost immediately. I can’t put my finger on it, but this stuff smells REALLY good. Compared to other Bath & Body Works fragrances, Black Amethyst is sophisticated and rich. And it’s well-blended because I can’t discern any of the individual notes except the lemony bergamot. Quite addictive. Just ordered the spray mist and lotion, too. I wish it were still available as an eau de toilette."
Review 6 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Nurse Ruthie
Location: Big Spring, Tx.
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: received as a gift
Posted: January 12, 2014
Love it!
"My daughter had given a purse size hand lotion to me and I couldn't resist using it at night after my shower. The fragrance is so amazing. I've since ordered many shower gels, lotions and creams on-line for myself and for gifts. Everyone loves it. Please don't remove it from your line as it's the best fragrance in my opinion."
Review 7 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Flobaby
Location: Florida
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 10, 2014
All I Can Say Is--WOW!
"I think that "Black Amethyst" is without a doubt BBW's most controversial and unique scent. I had to try this one after reading all the reviews on line. When I first smelled this shower gel, I thought that it was an interesting scent for maybe a candle or potpourri, but probably not quite right for a bath product. But then, I tried it. This scent works just wonderfully well with my body chemistry. It does go on pretty strong at first, but once it settles into the skin it is a wonderful, spicy, woodsy delight. It almost has a slight chocolate smell to it as well. The scent that would probably be closest to this one is "Dark Kiss", but it has a lot more going on than that scent. It is the "Vetiver", I think, that makes it so different, and its hard to explain that one unless you try it for yourself. This is an exotic scent and pretty strong, and a mature one, definitely not for the kids. If you like "Japanese Cherry Blossom", "Dark Kiss", "Sensual Amber" or "MIdnight Pomegranate", you might like this one as well. You've got to try it out of curiosity at least. 5 stars PLUS from me !"
Review 8 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:anicole
Location: Dallas, Texas
I am a: Luxury Lover
Usage: monthly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 8, 2014
This one surprised me!
"I don't know exactly what I was expecting with this one, but the scent really surprised me. At first I wasn't sure if i actually liked it, but it really has grown on me. It smells very mature and sophisticated. I definitely smell the magnolia, gardenia, and tuberose. It almost reminds me of a classic perfume. I would recommend giving it a try!"
Review 9 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:CTMALO
Location: West Springfield, MA
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 3, 2014
Love It !
"Love this scent. When I shower with this, then use the matching spray mist, I don't have to use my D&G Light Blue perfume. I order a few bottles every time there is a sale, since it's not available in the stores.... I hope they don't discontinue it online anytime soon !
Love It !"
Review 10 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Charbaby
Location: Arizona
I am a: Luxury Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: December 4, 2013
Most Compliments Ever
"Not only is this my favorite fragrance, but it appears to be everyone else's as well! I have never had so many compliments on a fragrance before, even those for which I've paid a fortune for! Please, Bath & Body, please bring this product back to your stores!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:guest465
Location: chicago
I am a: Beauty Naturalist
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: November 27, 2013
Love the frangrance
"I love the smell of Black Amethyst! I wanted to buy hand soap but unfortunately they don't have it. I hope they keep this line and add the hand soap."
Review 12 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:TrideoQueen
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: received as a gift
Posted: October 31, 2013
Amazing fragrance!
"I just love this fragrance - it is my absolute favorite! I was so sorry to see it leave the stores but was so grateful to find it still on line. Please don't ever stop this line. It is rich and exotic and really lovely!"
Review 13 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Danyel
Location: Mocksville NC
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: September 24, 2013
Why Why WHY
"Did you ever stop selling this in the stores!! I am not really an Online shopper due to my Banking background, there is so much fraud, I stay away from online shopping... BUT due to the fact that they moved the BEST SCENT EVER to be released to an Online purchase only I now have to buy online. I just HOPE that you never stop selling Black Amethyst. I receive more compliments on the scent than with any other Bath and Body fragrance. I tried Dark Kiss which is supposed to be similar to BA but it is no where even close. Too fruity. My soon to be Hubby loves it and never wants me to switch. I have tried, he will not let me!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:AthenaR
Location: San Diego, CA
I am a: Indulgent Pampering Seeker
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: August 14, 2013
Best Thing Ever
"This is the greatest scent in the world, it is literally feminine power and sexuality in a bottle. I just absolutely love it and am TOTALLY DEVASTATED each and every time it is discontinued out of the stores. The lovely young ladies in the store always try and show me similar scents but nothing can compare to Black Amethyst. I am just so happy I can get it online because is my favorite.
Love, love, love ittt!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:FoxieRoxie
Location: NC
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: July 25, 2013
NOTHING LIKE IT!!!!
"I love fruity scents, but for me this is just so "sexy" smelling I couldn't resist!!!! I use this and the body spray as the perfect combo for my nights out! I've never smelt anything as amazing as this! Its just such a sexy smelling body wash!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Briyanna
Location: Ellabell, GA
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: April 23, 2013
Seriously? Again?
"Once again, I find a scent that doesn't cause me to be chased by a swarm of bees (I HATE straight florals, and I HATE smelling like FRUIT), and I go to replenish it at the mall (which I only get to once in a blue moon, living in a rural area), and find it's been discontinued.
I was angry enough when BBW stopped making Twilight Woods in Anti-Bacterial handsoap, and Sensual Amber before that - These are the ONLY three scents I will use, since they are NOT floral and NOT fruit.
I have been hunting around the hand-crafted communities to see if any of them have scents close to these three - I know for a FACT that if they find they have a customer or two who want it, they will carry it and special-make it.
I've had enough of the fact that EVERY time I outfit my bathroom in a scent from body wash to lotion to liquid hand-soap, BBW discontinues part or all of that scent and expects me to use floral or fruit scents that I don't like and don't want.
I understand that new things come out every so often and older things go away, but seriously: SOME OF US DO NOT WANT TO SMELL LIKE FLOWERS OR FRUIT, AND/OR DO NOT WANT TO SMELL LIKE WE BATHED IN CHEAP COLOGNE.
In SOME cases, it could be very dangerous for us - like in my case. I'm allergic to bee/wasp stings, and smelling like flowers and/or fruit will cause them to come after me when I'm trying to get yard work done.
No, thank you. Bad plan, BBW. We want options - more than flowers and fruit - and we want options ranging in ALL of your products, not just one or two.
"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Dragonfly2081
Location: Upstate, NY
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: April 12, 2013
WHY??? Black Amethyst
"Once again, BBW has created a scent that is so alluring, so amazing and then they TAKE IT AWAY! WHY? For those of us who do not want to smell like fruit, Black Amethyst was the answer! Before that, it was Seaspray, another AMAZING scent that fell to the wayside.
Not only do I get great compliments from the scent, people always want to know where I got it. I used to send them in your direction, BBW, but now I just tell them it is on the website and don't fall in love because it probably won't be there much longer either. Again, just like Seaspray.
Please, please, please bring this scent back to the stores...and not just for special occasions and sales promos. It should be a regular item. Don't just do it for my sake, but for the sake of all others who do not want to smell like food but love your products."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Ssss3811
Location: Middletown, PA
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 17, 2013
So Sad :( My shower just isn't the same
"I ran out of my last bottle of Black Amethyst Shower Gel in mid December. I asked my stepson for more when he asked me what i wanted for Christmas. I was so sad to find out that it had been discontinued. I have used it since before it was actually released when i purchased the little bottle of body lotion that you guys put out before a new scent is actually available. Anyhow sorry for rambling but my showers aren't the same. Thank god i still have body lotion, body spray and body cream. Since i am handicapped i always try to hit up your semi annual sales and stock up then so that I am good for 6 months at a time. Please, please, please make more Black Amethyst Shower Gel!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Anonymous
Location: Florida
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 13, 2013
Black amtythist
"Please bring this fragrance back, undeniably one of the best fragrances, please bring back"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:nikki j
Location: Georgia
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: monthly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 4, 2013
Potent!
"This is the first scent I ever purchased from BBW. I got this, body butter, and fragrance mist! I thought it was very unique and I loved how strong it was and how it can make you stand out in a crowd. I am glad that it is still being sold online!"
120 of 21 Reviews