Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Bath & Body Works.

Signature Collection Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar

A sweet indulgence of sheer florals, vanilla absolute & sandalwood
Average Customer Rating:
2.56 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
50 of 134(37%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Signature Collection Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Review 1 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Liz888
Location: Texas
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Posted: June 19, 2014
I couldn't believe it...
"Since I get sensory overload after about four samplings in the store, I rely on the reviews to help me decide which fragrances to sample to make my samples count. I was intrigued by all the negative comments describing WVS, so I decided to give it a try. It couldn't be as bad as some describe! Well, it is. I was shocked at the smell. Burned plastic pretty well sums it up. I let it dry so I could see if it improved with age. It didn't. I couldn't wait to wash it off. Perhaps the new shea/vitamin etc. formulation doesn't mix well with the "old favorite" scent formulation. I only dearly hope that if they ever bring back my personal favorite, Gardenia, that they pay attention to the quality of the scent and it doesn't smell like chemical burn."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:KK3BBW
Location: Fairfax, VA
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: June 18, 2014
Just awful--smells burnt!
"I absolutely love the Warm Vanilla Sugar fine fragrance mist, so I made the mistake of buying the lotion without trying it out on my skin first. Unfortunately, it doesn't live up to the fine fragrance mist at all. It does not smell warm, vanilla, or sugary. Instead, this lotion smells like burnt, acrid plastic. It was so disgusting that I tried to wash it off, but the smell clung to my skin for hours. Gross!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:americangirl1
Location: Spokane
I am a: Spa Lover
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: June 15, 2014
Smells Just Perfect-Compared the old/New
"I really don't get the negative reviews. I still have some older WVS even the body cream in round container and then the old update, then also this newer version. You can hardly smell a difference in them. I have worn this a long time and I certainly complain on occasion when BBW makes "icky" new products but just don't see that in this line.
I have all the products and they are perfectly light accents with a warm cozy feel that I wear anytime in the year given I live in a cold US climate about 8 months a year."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:Cbailey
Location: Chesterfield va
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: June 13, 2014
Doesn't smell anything like vanilla
"I love the warm vanilla sugar body mist but the lotion smells nothing like vanilla in fact this lotion smells like a basement or something even on skin, but i do love the body mist because that one's my favorite body mist next to sea island cotton but the lotion needs some work."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:Salvatori
Location: Tempe, AZ
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: September 18, 2013
please bring back the old scent!
"The change in this fragrance is so disappointing. The old formula was fantastic and I used to wear it everyday, but this new scent is not even particularly appealing."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:BBBWlover
Location: San Francisco, Ca
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: monthly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: September 9, 2013
Poor Warm Vanilla Sugar
"BBW truly messed up a great fragrance. It does not smell the same as it did in the older packaging..."
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:KathleenSJ
Location: San Jose
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: August 19, 2013
New Formula, HUGE Disappointment!
"I have been a HUGE Warm Vanilla Sugar fan for years up until they changed the formula. For some reason, the lotion, as well as the shower gel AND body mist smell like plastic! From my recollection, the eau de toilette smells practically identical to the old formula, which is GREAT but I really really miss the classic Warm Vanilla Sugar lotion. Instead, I replaced it with Brown Sugar and FIg, which I HIGHLY recommend! It is more of that classic vanilla brown sugar scent, so if you are like me and miss the old Warm Vanilla Sugar lotion get this one to replace it! Still not identical but by far the best Vanilla scent BBW carries!"
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:missclemons
Location: kentucky
I am a: High Maintenance
Something I: received as a gift
Posted: August 13, 2013
Not quite right.
"The scent is a little off for some reason. Alot of other people who have reviewed it says it smells like plastic.. I am not sure if what I am smelling is plastic, but I know its not pleasant. I really don't smell much vanilla, I smell much more sugar, and a bit of musk. If you want a good vanilla scent from BBW I suggest Dreamy Vanilla Woods, if it is still around, or the seasonal Vanilla Bean Noel. Both are much better than Warm Vanilla Sugar."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:FRAGRANCE LOVER BBW
Location: Canada, AB
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: August 6, 2013
WORST PURCHASE
"When I first smelt it in the store, it smelt like vanilla, so I bought it. Once I got home I put some on my hands, and it smelt like PLASTIC!! One of the worst scents I've smelt."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Forever fragrance 25
Location: Madison WI
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: August 6, 2013
Warm and Cozy Scent
"This is one of my top favorite scents in the lotions. I love anything Warm and Cozy and this has exactly that! This is one I love to wear year round but esp. around fall time. If you like cozy and warm scents I would recommend you try this one."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:Stacy S
Location: Hackett, Arkansas
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Something I: received as a gift
Posted: July 29, 2013
Doesn't have the vanilla smell I was after
"This is not a very good smell in my opinion. It's dingy and reminds me of a basement smell with a hint of mute vanilla."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:bbwscents156
Location: New York, NY
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: monthly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: July 11, 2013
Yuck!
"I really don't like this scent! I am a HUGE fan of sweet fragrances, and too me, this smells like something weird, like plastic. I have a bottle of the fragrance mist in the old bottle I got a few years ago, and it smells very sweet ad vanilla like, and I like it very much! But something happened, and the scent changed. Now it smells very gross, and I think BBW changed something. I dislike this scent very, very much and I do NOT recommend it!"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:Lovelysmells
Location: Land
I am a: Luxury Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: July 6, 2013
Off putting chemical aftersmell
"The smell of vanilla is almost non-existent in this lotion, i don't know how they can call it vanilla sugar. The the worst part however, is the burning sensation when applying and the off- putting chemical smell one the lotion sits. Very odd."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Summer Ocean Swimmer
Location: West Coast
I am a: Spa Lover
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: July 1, 2013
A great lotion
"I like the smell but sometimes it can have a lighter smoky fragrance. It does make my skin smoother."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Baloon
Location: Ontario
Posted: June 28, 2013
This is a good product
"I LOVE this sent it smells very very good. It is a bit expensive but overall is a great product!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:TheBBWlover
Location: ....
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: received as a gift
Posted: June 25, 2013
LOVE IT!!!
"This is a scent for anybody. It has no floral but lots of nice vanilla next to the sugar!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:XoLuvBBWXo
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: received as a gift
Posted: June 24, 2013
bleh!
"I so agree with the other reviewer, this smells NOTHING like vanilla! All I get is a melted plastic scent whenever I put it on....The only reason I used it was because I got it as a Christmas gift! I don't recommend buying this, at all!"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:aldkjf
Location: New York, NY
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: June 22, 2013
Smells like bologna
"I have no idea what Bath and Body Works has done to this fragrance the past couple of years, but it smells nothing like vanilla. Absolutely nothing. I put this just on my hands and it smelled like bologna, no joke. It was so nauseating I scrubbed my hands to get it off and tossed the bottle in the trash. It used to be my mom's favorite scent but she agrees that it's disgusting these days."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:EmmaGrace
Location: San Francisco
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: monthly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: June 14, 2013
Something changed
"I don't know why this happened but BBW changed the ingredients in their lotions or something. This lotion used to be so bomb but now it smells chemically and like plastic. I feel like other people may not notice if they smell me, but I definitely do which bothers me. Only use when I can't find my other lotions after a while of searching. Sad."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Body Lotion - Warm Vanilla Sugar
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:Chocolateluvergirl123
Location: New york
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: June 7, 2013
ok
"i dont get why everyone is so against this product. i have the old version and the new version. the old version did smell much better, but the old version is ok. i understand the whole "smelling like plastic" thing, it kind of does but only if you put a ton on. if you put it on in small dabs, it smells quite nice, without being overwhelming. since the scent is quite strong, you only need a small dab anyways. as long as you dont put on too much, its a great lotion. only problem is the big bottle. since you can only put it on in small doses, im struggling to finish this big bottle. if its your first time trying the scent, go with the travel size bottle."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
120 of 134 Reviews