Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Bath & Body Works.

White Barn 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving

Average Customer Rating:
2.177 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
16 of 51(31%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for White Barn 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Review 1 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:lafille
Location: Colorado
I am a: Beauty Maven
Posted: November 1, 2012
Why?
"I suppose I'll just never know why people want to have a scent that smells like food. Bakery/dessert scents are the same, I guess, but a lot of those scents feature vanilla notes that are common in perfume/home scents, whereas candles like Thanksgiving and French Baguette merely smell like things you eat for dinner. This candle, which straight up smells like MASHED POTATOES, is kinda useless in my opinion - why would you want your house to have the aroma of cooking food without the actual food to eat? To me it's silly to want to fill you home with the scent of potatoes when you aren't actually preparing them.
Maybe save yourself the trouble and just whip up some mashed potatoes rather than faking everyone out with a candle? Just a thought! :)"
Review 2 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Aah1210
Location: Texas
Posted: October 31, 2012
Awful
"First off, the potato I smell is raw potato. Not mashed potato or sweet potato.
And it's way too strong, I had to avoid the area of the store near these candles because I could smell the awfulness even with their lids on.
"
Review 3 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:K8LuvsKatz
Location: Eastern Tennessee
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: to create ambiance
Posted: October 30, 2012
Yummy, but obviously not for everyone...
"I have to say, I'm surprised that this candle only has a two-star rating. Sure, it's not a sugary frosting candle, and it's no fresh tree scent, either, but I have to commend White Barn / Slatkin / Bath & Body Works (whoever the heck is creating the candles now) for taking a risk and giving us a savory food scent that isn't classified as "bakery."
When I first smelled this a few weeks ago, I was both intrigued and put off, but my curiosity got the better of me, and I decided to buy it. There was something about the mashed potato scent that just seemed so comforting and homey. I've been burning it for about four hours now, and it's filled up our kitchen with a fresh-cooked food smell. It's quite nice, and it's definitely a welcome change from most other candle scents I have, which are typically cake- or pie-scented.
I wanted this candle because it's unique, and I'm actually going to pick up another one tomorrow, since I don't know if it will be coming back next autumn. I hope the company puts out more non-traditional candle scents in the future, since I like to mix it up every once in a while. Once you've got as many candles as I do (over 100--eek!), it's hard to find scents that aren't dupes for others."
Review 4 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Becky W.
Location: Massena, NY
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: October 30, 2012
Thanksgiving dinner in candle form!!
"I LOVE the smell of this Candle. I actually first saw the candle on this sight and read the description and couldn't wait to find it in the store. When I found it in the store I smelled it and its exactly the way it is described on the bottom of the candle, Sweet potatoes with nutmeg and melted butter, YUM!!! I bought one of the 3-wicks and a smaller single wick. I cant believe the number of people who are talking this candle down and then talking up other scents that are coming out this season i.e. Cashmere. To me that one smells like a wool sweater that has been stored with way too may moth balls. Thanksgiving is definitely one of my favorite scents and something uniquely different. Can't wait to burn it for Thanksgiving!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Dutchess K
Location: Humble, TX
I am a: High Maintenance
Posted: October 30, 2012
oh em gee
"listen to the warnings from other rviewers (which are amusing to read)...this candle is beyond gross...and what is worse is the employees push it like it is the next best thing. (this could be because im a big gal and maybe food is what we want in a candle too!)
stay away!! this is beyond nauseating."
Review 6 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Sly Cooper
Location: Anaheim,CA
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: October 30, 2012
DISGUSTING!!!!!!!
"THIS CANDLE IS COMPLETLY GROSS! i smelled this product in-store and ths made me and my dad gag! the name "thanksgving", please...........DO NOT PURCHASE!"
Review 7 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Paige2966
Location: Texas
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: October 29, 2012
Horrible!
"Unfortunately, this is the worst candle that I've ever smelled.......in my life!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:NJP23
Location: SD
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: seasonally
Posted: October 29, 2012
Mashed Potatoes?!
"I love 99% of the candles offered by Bath and Body Works/White Barn Co., but this one is just a bit off the mark. Smells like mashed potatoes. Weird."
Review 9 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Dot L
Location: Nowhere
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: October 29, 2012
NOT up in here!
"This is the worst scent ever. It smells like potatoes times ten (potatoes are not this stinky) combined with farts. Returning."
Review 10 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:Anonymous
Location: CT
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: October 29, 2012
Eh....
"I don't really like this candle. To me it smells like a mix of coconut macarons and mashed potatoes. They shouldn't have added the sweet notes, I probably would have liked it without them. I guess it all depends what you like though."
Review 11 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:kekecakes812
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: October 29, 2012
Smelled in store...
"Smelled this in the store and it straight up smells like mashed potatoes and not in a good way. I was excited when I saw it but once I smelled it I almost threw up! Not a good candle, at all!"
Review 12 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Perfume911
Location: The South
I am a: Indulgent Pampering Seeker
Posted: October 27, 2012
REALLY BBW????
"This scent is just WRONG WRONG WRONG! This smells like str8 up undercooked idaho potatoes with a hint of puked up sweet cream dashed on top of it. I cannot see what on earth possessed whoever came up with this atrocious scent to put this in a candle. I smell NO candied yams, NO pecans, none of the yummy notes listed in the description. I get that everyone has a bad day but dang, this mishap should have NEVER made it past marketing. YUCK!"
Review 13 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:njbutterfly
Location: NJ
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: for everyday use
Posted: October 27, 2012
Gag me with a candle?
"All I can say about this one is the description sounded yummy but the execution was a disaster. I ordered it from the website based on the description, never smelled it in person. Got the candle, was so excited to smell it, I opened it up and took a long, deep whiff. O.M.G. I don't think I've ever gagged like that before! Not much better when lit. Too strong and nasty scent, smells like moldy mashed potatoes mixed with sweet potatoes and covered up with nasty gravy. Ewwwwwwwww! How did this make it to the shelves? WOW.JUST WOW. This one is going back to the store today... :("
Review 14 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Patti66
Location: Wisconsin
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: seasonally
Posted: October 26, 2012
Unique fragrance
"A sweet scent, different than what I expected but I enjoy the sweetness. I lit it once so far and will burn it often during Thankgiving week. I like the label too."
Review 15 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:clars2309
Location: Pa
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: for special occasions
Posted: October 25, 2012
I Like It
"I think it's kind of funny so many negative reviews on this one, but I like it! It smells like sweet potatoes with Marshmallow topping and a touch of coconut. More for me!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Spool
Location: San Antonio, Texas
I am a: Indulgent Pampering Seeker
Posted: October 25, 2012
We did the mashed potato!..err...what?!
"It's like taking in a giant huff of boxed mashed potatoes. Then choking on it.
I'm really not sure how this candle made it to stores...they must have tested this abomination shortly before lunch, would be my best guess.
In all honesty though, its not even a *good* foody type smell. I even toyed with the idea of this being a 'masculine' candle that might appeal to a macho frat boy (to remind them of home, or at the very least cover the smell of empty beer cans in the trash) but alas, no. This candle will find itself with a very, very small following. Yuck."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:Craigo
Location: Longmont, CO
Posted: October 24, 2012
Unique
"This candle is VERY strong. You can smell it before you see it, even with the lid on it.
At first, I was appalled by this fragrance. It was the most disgusting fragrance I have ever smelled. BUT, after I walked around and smelled a few other candles, I came back to it.
The second time, I smelled Mashed Potatos. VERY UNIQUE. It's not a horrible candle, but different and appealing to one a select few groups of people. If you LOVE food fragrances, just try it a few time and get the feel of it. Not love at first sight, but maybe a couple glances."
Review 18 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:D Salinas
Location: california
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: October 24, 2012
Ick!!!
"Disgusting! This candle smells like dog food! What in the world were they thinking?! What I don't understand is how something as delicious smelling as the Lavender Macaron candle "didn't test well" and therefore never made it to the shelves, and yet this disgusting smelling candle somehow makes it through?! I have no idea... BBW needs to go back to the lab on this one! Or better yet, trash it all together, like some moldy thanksgiving leftovers and bring back Lavender Macaron in its place so we can smell something good!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:DMK1212
Location: Hampton, VA
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: for everyday use
Posted: October 22, 2012
So disgusting
"I love B&BW candles & buy them all the time, as I always have one burning so I go through them pretty quickly. In the store, I saw this one & because of its pretty packaging, smelled it. I had just taken a sip of my coffee beforehand, and it came back up in my mouth. This candle smells disgusting. All I could smell was mashed potatoes, and while I love mashed potatoes, I dont want that scent in a candle. It also smelled a little like turkey too. It smells very strong & it made me nauseous for the next few hours."
Review 20 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:ArgyleAngel2012
Location: Garner, NC
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: seasonally
Posted: October 22, 2012
The "Vomit Candle"
"This candle smells like you puked up thanksgiving dinner. You can smell it through the lid, and it doesn't get any better when you burn it. Horrible! Who invented this???"
120 of 51 Reviews