Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Bath & Body Works.

White Barn 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving

Average Customer Rating:
2.735 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
15 of 34(44%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for White Barn 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Review 1 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:KGS123
Location: Richmond, VA
Posted: December 31, 2012
"The idea of the fragrance is a good one, but this candle smells more like the trash on Thanksgiving night than the scents coming from the kitchen that day."
Review 2 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:Lillyrex
Location: Philidelphia, PA
Posted: December 24, 2012
It is awesome
"I got this candle and immediatly fell in love with it! It smells so deliciuos! This candle along with french baguet will have your neighbors coming from all over the neighborhood."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:furmin
Location: Nevada
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: for special occasions
Posted: December 24, 2012
A Nice Change of Pace
"I'm really excited that BBW decided to venture out and try some savory food-scented candles. I love French Baguette and this Thanksgiving candle. I've grown bored with candles that smell like cinnamon, vanilla, and other sugary things all the time.
I will admit this candle is not for everyone. I even wrinkled my nose the first time I smelled it. But I kept smelling it again and again. it really grew on me while I was in the store, so I took it home. It's a very strong scent. I use a candle warmer and just use it long enough until the entire candle is melted, and then I turn it off. The smell lingers for a long time. This smell becomes cloying if it is burning for too long.
It really does smell like Thanksgiving Day. I can smell mashed potatoes, gravy, turkey, and a hint of vanilla. I don't pick up any coconut notes like others have mentioned. I would like to see this return next year, but I doubt that it will."
Review 4 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Innerstrength
Location: Massachusetts
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: for everyday use
Posted: December 23, 2012
One of the WORST scents ever made.
"I sent my DH and DD14 to pick up a few candles to give as gifts, and they came home with this stink bomb .... I took one whiff and almost gagged - I would have gagged but I didn't want to hurt their feelings. It smells like a Thanksgiving gone bad ! Like artificial mashed potatoes, butter buds, rancid nuts, and maybe some spoiled gravy all melted into one. Just one whiff burned itself into my senses, and NOT in a positive way. I sneakily returned it the next day just to get it out of my house. The scent was so revolting that I wouldn't even gift it to someone I didn't like. YUCK !"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:BlueBearBeemo
Location: California
Posted: December 21, 2012
disgusting
"seriously? what were you guys thinking? this is just gross. there's no way around it. maybe if you had done more of a sweet potato, this might have been better. but a white potato that literally smells like it's uncooked and covered in dirt? it didn't even smell like a creamy mashed potato, (which still would have been weird).
i can appreciate b&bw thinking outside the box, but this was a little TOO out there.
"
Review 6 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:K.LS
Location: SC
I am a: Beauty Ally
Posted: December 21, 2012
Candle of Death
"This candle is the most ridiculous I've ever smelled in my life. I do not know HOW anyone could purchase this or put it to sell either. Its like a mixture of powdered mash potatoes and nutmeg, and not in any possible good way....It's awful!!!"
Review 7 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Lipgloss Lush
Location: South Carolina
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: seasonally
Posted: December 11, 2012
So disappointed!
"Now I live off BBW's candles. I have at least one or two burning everyday. I know what my scent preferences are and since I am disabled and can rarely get into a store, I do almost all of my ordering on-line and trust the descriptions. They have always been spot on or close enough to it. This is the first time that something was really off! Oh the anticipation when I saw the description, I was anticipating something along the lines of pumpkin or sweet-potatoe pies - the desert table at most any Thanksgiving dinner knd of wrapped into one with the warm fall spices. I opened it and I was nauseated. Where's the nutmeg? All I smelled was mashed potatoes and gravy - huh? I could detect a bit of the French Baguette that came out early fall and I enjoyed it in small doses but there is nothing sweet or spicy about this candle. I hate to write a negative review and I honestly don't ever remember writing one but I have to be honest for people like me that can't go into the stores and sample before they order. Something went terribly, terribly wrong with this one."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:LaviNY
Location: Riverdale, NY
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: December 10, 2012
Thanksgiving mmm good
"I just received this today and i must say its definitely got a good food appeal, smells sweet and inviting. The vanilla is prominent, also smells like toasted chestnuts, though not mentioned in the description. I can also smell buttery mashed potatoes, yum. Although i can see how it might not be a fragrance for everyone, it has a cozy smelling vibe to it thats somewhat nostalgic, at least for me. The throw and burn are good too, and definitely not overpowering."
Review 9 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:Jenny1121
Location: South Dakota
Posted: December 10, 2012
TERRIBLE!!
"I bought this candle online without having an opportunity to smell it. I usually have great luck with candles from Bath and Body Works. I am shocked this candle was even released. Thankfully, Bath and Body Works is great for returning products and I was able to exchange for a much better candle."
Review 10 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:wonderstruck04
Location: San Francisco, CA
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: December 10, 2012
mashed potatoes...
"unless you want your house to smell like mashed potatoes i don't suggest you get this candle."
Review 11 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Bows
Location: Troy, MI
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: for everyday use
Posted: December 2, 2012
Please more 3 wick...in this fragrance
"This is one of my all time favorites.....Smells just like Thanksgiving !!!! I must have five different fragrances waiting to burn right now, and all I want is more of this fragrance..Can't you get this back in a three wick PLEASE !!!!!"
Review 12 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:LadyCyra
Location: Providence, RI
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: to create ambiance
Posted: November 19, 2012
No thanks.
"My husband and I buy Bath and Body Works candles every few months, to coincide with the seasons. Our favorite ones for fall and winter are harvest apple (I believe the name is...) and fresh balsam. We saw the Thanksgiving one, and thought that it would be an interesting one to try... We typically check out each scent before choosing, anyway. Well, I smelled this one first, and seriously wished that we hadn't just finished having lunch. My goodness. I felt so incredibly sick. My husband, not paying attention to my face, decided to smell it, as well. He felt the same way; we almost had to leave to get away from the smell. Spices, simple foods - like baking bread, etc. - or herbs are all great choices for candles. Having something like this is an assault on the senses. I understand that other people have different opinions, but everyone I watched smell this candle - including my own children - felt ill afterwards. I didn't see anyone that seemed as though they were interested in buying one.
We got our two usual candles, and left, still feeling sick. Needless to say, it's NOT going to join our little collection of candles!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:ay caramba
Location: NY
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: November 18, 2012
Smells Disgusting
"I smelled this in the store and I could NOT believe Bath and Body Works would release such a scent. It's horrifying!! I made my friend smell it to make sure it wasn't just me and surely enough, she gagged too. Not worth it in any way shape or form!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Budgie
Location: Chicago suburbs
I am a: Low Maintenance
Posted: November 13, 2012
Different in a good way!
"This candle smells and burns great.
I liked this candle so much that I bought two of the 3 wick candles and two of the small.
If you like the smell in your house at Thanksgiving ... you will like this candle!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:CatalinaTate
Location: NC
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: for everyday use
Posted: November 11, 2012
OMG!
"OMG! This scent is amazing! I read reviews before that people hated this candle, because it smelled like turkey, mashed potatoes, and gravy. I went in to B&BW, saw it, smelled it, and fell in LOVE! It does smell like all those things, but in a good way. If you love the way your house smells after Thanksgiving or Christmas cooking then you will like this candle. It is an acquired taste, or in this case acquired scent. Lol. It is a savory smelling candle and every time I smell it I get that warm and fuzzy feeling :D"
Review 16 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Stephh
Location: California, CA
Posted: November 11, 2012
Literally
"This candle literally smells like mashed potatoes. It is my favorite scent ever! I burn this candle with the French baguette candle, it's FANTASTIC!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:HalleysComet
Location: Oz, Florida
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: for everyday use
Posted: November 8, 2012
Complete Obsession
"I absolutely love this scent. I feel like I can't live without it. I am actually writing a letter to the corporate office because I heard that it would be discontinued. It is a fantastic holiday scent which captures Thanksgiving perfectly. It is a mildly sweet scented candle with a bit of nuts, and undertones of chocolate and coconut. It is a very complex scent to describe but it is also simple and nostalgic at the same time. It can evoke strong memories in some. Friends who love Thanksgiving seem to love it, friends who don't like Thanksgiving find it freakish. I think some of the bad reviews may have to do with bad memories people may have of Thanksgiving."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Angie81
Location: Delaware
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: November 7, 2012
Horrible Scent!!!
"I hardly would ever take the time to write a review just to say something smelled bad, but I just couldn't believe this candle was ever created! I saw this candle in the store and I opened it to smell it thinking it would be some sort of spice/pumpkin scent. OMG, I almost threw up. I said to my kids "that's disgusting!" and another shopper a few feet away from me said "you must have smelled "Thanksgiving" and agreed it was awful. I don't think I've ever smelled such a horrible candle. It smells like turkey. As I continued to look at other candles other shoppers who smelled it were making negative comments as well. I think I would throw up if I entered someone's house and smelled this candle burning. Disgusting!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:missdior
Location: Palos Verdes, CA
I am a: Luxury Lover
Usage: to create ambiance
Posted: November 5, 2012
Complex Phenomenal Scent
"This is the first time I have ever taken the time to write a review online. That being said, this candle is unbelievable. On the cold sniff I smelled mashed potatoes, melted butter, and the faintest hint of coconut.
After 30 minutes of being lit all I could smell was instant mashed potatoes with melted butter and I thought that it was weird and was on the fence about liking the candle.
One hour into burning I could smell the coconut coming through with the mashed potato smell still present but now smelling like homemade potatoes and I still didn't know if I liked the candle because the scent was so strange.
Right before two hours of being lit, the scent had evolved into the most delicious coconut scent I have ever smelled from a home fragrance product. The scent was a mixture of toasted coconut with perhaps shortbread cookie? It definitely smells like a toasty, warm coconut scented dessert or drink that one would have by the beach in the fall.
I really regret not buying the 3 wick size and now they are no longer available so I am going to stock up on the 4oz!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 oz. Small Candle - Thanksgiving
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:isadorable
Location: san francisco
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: November 5, 2012
Just why
"I was going to leave a very nasty review to match the nasty scent of this candle, but after reading some positive reviews I guess some people like it???
It smells like mashed potatoes. Like coconut mashed potatoes. I just. Can't. I was so confused as to why anyone would want their room to smell like mashed potatoes. Hmm now that I think of it it's not too terrible of an idea...
Well I'm not wholly against food-scented candles: I really liked the French Baguette, Sugared Doughnut and Cinnamon Nut Bread candles. But these are sweet, light, and warm scents. THIS ONE SMELLS SO WEIRD!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
120 of 34 Reviews