Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

True Blue Spa Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold - Sun

Tantalizing tropical coconut fragrance
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
10 of 13(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for True Blue Spa Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold - Sun
Review 1 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold - Sun
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Cancer Free
Location: Maryland
I am a: Beauty Naturalist
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: April 2, 2014
AMAZING PRODUCT!!!
"I purchased this product hoping it would turn out like everyone else has said it would, and it does! I can never tan in the sun or a tanning bed due to cancer (i have never done either in my life) and I love having a tan. I have been using this product for about 2 weeks now and I am defiantly tan and not over doing it. I use the lotion every other day some times every 2 days depending on how I feel my tan looks. I use regular BBW lotion on my ankles, knees, and elbows (most common areas that will turn orange if not) when I use the lotion. On the days I do not use the tanning lotion, I just use regular lotion where I have tanned and it helps bring out the tan even more. I exfoliate every 3 days to help keep my tan looking nice. I absolutely love this product!"
Review 2 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold - Sun
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Upstate College Gal
Location: Upstate, New York
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: March 5, 2014
Stop Your Search!
"I'm the kind of girl who likes to be tan all year round. Pale skin just does't do it for me. I used to frequent tanning beds, but after a couple of uncomfortable burns, I decided lotion would have to be my new option. My mom recommended Strike Gold to me back in high school. It's been about four years of continual use with this product, and I'm still quite happy. After I shower, I apply a regular lotion first (any B&BW product will work) and then apply Strike Gold on top of that. This keeps the streaking issue from occurring. I also apply the Strike Gold lotion every other day to ensure the streaks don't appear and my skin stays tan without over-doing it. Finally, I exfoliate often in the shower to remove dead skin and excess lotion. This keeps my skin looking fresh overall and it's simply healthier for my skin! As with many other beauty regimes, you have to find the best application process for you and only you, as every body is different."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold - Sun
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:TLady
Location: NJ
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: February 27, 2014
Awesome product
"This was an impulse buy for me, to finish my True Blue buy two get one. I'd never used self tanner before, but I don't tan well naturally and I hated being ghostly in the middle of summer. I used it once and wow. It left me with a nice, natural glow. I didn't have any problems with streaking and it didn't leave me looking like an oompa loompa. Plus the scent is really pleasant. It isn't completely perfect, though; it takes a while to dry enough that I'm not afraid of it ruining my clothes. You have to wash your hands REALLY thoroughly afterwords, or you'll have orange all around your nails that takes forever to get off. And finally, after a week or so when it starts to fade, it actually fades streaky (or maybe I just scrub too hard with my loofa). Will definitely be repurchasing for this summer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold - Sun
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:KelleyCMH
Location: Columbus, OH
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: September 7, 2013
The best yet!
"I've been using this product for years, as I think it's the best value on the market. I was pleasantly surprised a couple of weeks ago when I noticed the pleasing fragrance - I never thought that self-tanning lotion could actually smell good. Thank you for an amazing product!"
Review 5 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold - Sun
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:Remedy
Location: Oregon
I am a: Beauty Maven
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: August 8, 2013
Orange
"When I first tried it, I absolutely loved it. It barely changed the color of my skin but in a few days I looked tan, but one day when I put it on, it made me go completely orange and I cannot find a way to go back. It went from a natural looking tan to Snooki in a day. I'm so disappointed now."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold - Sun
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:ShellBeach
Location: Michigan
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: July 13, 2013
Going for the bronze
"I use both Glow & Steady and Strike Gold to get my tan.
I use the other to give my legs a "base color" so I don't go from "ghost" to "golden" in an instant- people would definitely notice.
Strike Gold is definitely my favorite though because unlike Glow & Steady it doesn't develop into that highly noticeable, stinky "self tanner" smell after a few hours. So I can apply it during the day or at night, or apply two layers in one day.
I've never had this turn me orange, only a lovely shade of bronze- even after multiple layers. Bear in mind it reacts to your body chemistry- not everyone is meant to turn bronze with the same self-tanner!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold - Sun
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:xoPanda
Location: WA
I am a: Luxury Lover
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: July 1, 2013
Time consuming
"Despite the positive reviews, I found this product rather disappointing. I took all the necessary steps prior to application (exfoliating, moisturizing, etc) but the color pay-out was very poor considering the time invested to apply & dry. I'm fair skinned with yellow undertones, tried the product 2-3 times with ONE layer to thoroughly test it and every time there was hardly a difference, so i tried again using two layers; rubbing it in, rubbing the other leg, then applying another layer over both after the first had settled. The color achieved was much better, a beautiful, light golden tan (no orange..yay!) but it took HOURS to dry. Applied the 2 layer process again last night and waited 'only' 3 hours, not touching ANYTHING to my legs and double checking for an even application, before going to bed but awoke with mild streaking. All the other times I've used it, I pretty much waited all day for them to dry (even when only one layer was used) and didn't have a problem...other than the unsettling feeling of ruining the tan with my clothes, the couch, or anything else that came in contact with my legs. As if that wasn't enough, it fades rather quickly, needing to repeat the process every 5-6 days.
I thought it should be noted that i DO NOT live in a humid climate and also believe a blow dryer might help resolve the issue but didn't want to deal with that as well. Overall, this product just wasn't worth the time and hassle to maintain.. sadly, this was returned."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold - Sun
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:CourtATL
Location: Atlanta, GA
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: June 21, 2013
The most amazing product EVER
"I LOVE LOVE LOVE this stuff!!!! It is all I use year round. Never sit in the sun, never go to tanning beds, yet I have people asking me "where did you go to get that tan?" WELL, I WENT TO BATH AND BODY WORKS!!!! It is the ONLY stuff i'll use because the color is so natural and I've never had any streaks. This is a legit miracle product!!!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold - Sun
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Anonymous
Location: SAINT BERNARD, LA
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: May 14, 2013
BEST I EVER USED AND I USED ALMOST EVERYONE MADE
"LET ME START BY SAYING THE CHICK WHO SAID SHE LOOKS LIKE AN ORANGE,, ITS PROBABLY BECAUSE ,.... YOU FORGOT THIS SMALL BUT POWERFUL MUST DO PRIOR TIP..... FIRST BATHE ( USING A BODY SCRUB FOR DEAD SKIN ROMOVAL , SHAVE N DO THE GIRLY THING) ....DRY OF WELL... APPLY A VERY GOOD MOIST. LOTION ( I APPLY PURE VITAMIN E CREAM NON GREASY BUT HEAVY MOSITURE ) GET IT AT DOLLAR GENERAL FOR 2.00.......SECOND MAKE SURE TO APPLY A GOOD AMOUNT BEHIND KNEES , KNEES CAPS AND ANKLES...LET DRY COMPLETELY...THEN YOU APPLY THE TANNER I USE..VIT E ....GRAD TANNER, THEN THE BRONZ FAST TANN. COMES OUT LOOKING LIKE I WAS AT THE BEACH.. U CAN ALSO USE A MICRO FIBER MIT TO MAKE IT EVEN MORE NATURAL. REMEMBER THIS ISNT A SUN KISSED BAKING TAN SOMEONE TOOK 3 YRS TO ACHIEVE AND YOU DID IT IN ONE NIGHT OUT OF A BOTTLE ... IT TAKES TIME , PATIENCE AND DECIDATION.. IF YOU DONT HAVE THAT... GO PAY FOR A TANNING BED.... BUT THIS EVER STOPS SELLING IM GOING TO LITERALLY CRY... THIS IS HOW I STAY TAN ALL YEAR ROUND. N LOOKS VERY NATURAL... U MUST APPLY IT CORRECTLY... I ALSO GOT 3 OTHER PPL USING THIS N THEY LOVE IT"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold - Sun
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Auri
Location: Cape Cod
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: April 24, 2013
I look like an orange dreamsicle!!
"Let me start by saying, this product, as far as self tanners go, smells great. I also love the fact it has an instant bronzer so you see exactly where you've 'tanned' already, it don't streak, it also has an awesome shimmer to it!! I WANT to love this stuff!! BUT... Sadly it has two downfalls first time you apply it it don't leave you with much color at all, second time I used it it turned me the scary shade of orange :( I went through all the prep for self tanning, exfoliated, moisturized, used gloves, used on dry skin in dry room etc... but I'm still orange :( It makes me sad because I LOVE bath and body works, and I really thought it would turn me a nice shade of brown"
Review 11 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold - Sun
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:AndreaC44
Location: Orlando, FL
I am a: Beauty Ally
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: April 18, 2013
The only self-tanner I'll use!
"As an extremely fair-skinned girl living in Florida, I absolutely need a little bit of color to get through our year-round shorts-and-dresses weather. I have tried many different brands of tanner, but this is the ONLY one that leaves me with a natural, truly tan look - and no orange undertones! This formula smells better than other brands, never streaks, and leaves me with a lovely bronze glow as soon as I apply it. I have recommended it to many friends and they love it as much as I do. If you're on the fair side, this is a foolproof way to look like you spent a day at the beach!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold - Sun
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:J Modern RN
Location: Portland, OR
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: April 1, 2013
Best Sunless Tanner
"I love, love, love the Bronzing Self-tanning lotion. It has a light fragrance (no disgusting chemical smells). It's light weight so it doesn't sweat off or streak. The instant bronzing helps to know where you've applied it and gives legs/arms (that haven't seen the sun in a while) a nice subtle glow, perfect for last minute needs too. I get compliments on my "nice tan" all the time, when I tell people its from a sunless tanner, they are shocked at how natural it looks. No umpa lumpa orange skin from this product! I have tried several different tanners from drug stores, Sephora, Victorias's Secret, and this is hands-down the best. Give it a try!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion - Strike Gold - Sun
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Nicoola
Location: Canada
I am a: Spa Lover
Usage: monthly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: March 20, 2013
Easy to use!
"I have used a lot of other self tanning lotions before and this is by far the best one I have ever used! Its easy to use, no streaks or lines, and dries quickly! Love this stuff!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.