Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Bath & Body Works.

Slatkin & Co. 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire

Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
17 of 28(61%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Slatkin & Co. 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Review 1 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:PinkPeonies
Location: New York, NY
I am a: Spa Lover
Posted: November 15, 2013
Disliked Scent
"I enjoy smoky scents and love the Summertime S'mores and Marshmallow Fireside candles, so I thought I would like this one, too. However, the fragrance didn't appeal to me at all. It's not horrible, but it reminds me of cheap potpourri. The apple scent is too noticeable and sweet for my liking. I can see how some might like this, though."
Review 2 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:LUVz2Shop
Location: MO
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: for everyday use
Posted: November 8, 2013
"I really do enjoy the scent of this candle. The name is accurate. It's a mildly sweet woody smell and I love it. I only wish it had a stronger throw. I hope as it burns down more the scent throw improves, as some of BBW's candles do."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Shellsey90
Location: PA
I am a: Beauty Naturalist
Posted: October 19, 2013
Love this scent
"This I recently smelled in a local BBW store and love it. It smells like the fall outdoors so fresh and crisp. I am not that much of a fan of fireside, it seems more manly and heavy- but I like this one. I think it throws wonderful as well- I could smell it throughout the store and kept going back to it. Wonderful work guys."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Seabelt Bag
Location: West Allis, WI
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: to create ambiance
Posted: October 14, 2013
So Amazing- My New Fave!
"I got this one because I really love "Fireside," and I thought it was a nice, Fall twist on the scent. I'm so glad that I chose this. It's a little lighter than fireside and has a slightly sweet smell to it. I can't say that I really smell the apples, but I love the scent, nonetheless. This candle burns evenly and has an excellent throw. I lit it in the corner of my living room and was able to smell it pooled up in my bathroom, a good 35 feet away. Perfect for Fall, and a great one for both men and women!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:boricuabomb
Location: Trenton, NJ
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: seasonally
Posted: October 9, 2013
Great Scent, Perfect for the Fall
"I'm surprised at some of these reviews - I LOVED this scent. I usually like fruity/food, clean scents. My boyfriend, however, loves the typical "man" scents like the Leaves candle. As you can see, we differ greatly in the candles we prefer. He thinks everything I burn is too "sweet" and I think everything he lights just stinks. But this candle is the PERFECT combo for us. It has the smokiness and woody smell that appeases him and I can smell the fresh sweetness of the apple.
Other reviewers have complained about the throw of the candle but we haven't had any problems. It fills the whole room and gives it a warm feeling.
It's a great Fall candle, esp. if you over the pumpkin smells that overstaturate the market around this time. Try it out!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:AimieJoi
Location: Pylesville, MD
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: for everyday use
Posted: October 8, 2013
Just Ok
"I'm not thrilled with the scent but I do like it. It has an earthy smell to it with woodsy notes but if does not smell like a bonfire at all. The throw is decent.
Disclaimer: I do not burn the candles as they are sold. I cut them up and burn them in tart warmers. Therefore I cannot comment on burn quality, wick performance or how long the candle lasts. I only burn them in tart warmers due to issues with chemical smell while burning and and poor performance after 2/3 of candle has burned. I ADORE their performance as tarts!!"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Evita
Location: Miramar, Florida
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: seasonally
Posted: October 1, 2013
??
"One of the reasons I love my local B&BW store is because they are usually burning a candle I am interesting in smelling/buying. So I went to my local store and they had this burning. I couldn't smell any wood or fruit. It simply smelled like their usual faint market place apple scents. Nothing extraordinary and nothing that reminds me of fall. It just didn't do anything for me."
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:Kina
Location: West Virginia
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: for everyday use
Posted: September 29, 2013
Very disapionted :(
"I have been a Bath and Body works customer for many years now. I chose to burn ONLY B&B candles in my house because I love the different scents. After purchasing this candle, I wished I would have never bought it. I really did not like the smell of this candle, I was very disappointed :(."
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:Alny
Location: New York,ny
I am a: Indulgent Pampering Seeker
Usage: for everyday use
Posted: September 23, 2013
Yep, No Throw
"Enough said."
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:JJWeiz9299
Location: Gettysburg, PA
I am a: Modern Decorator
Usage: to create ambiance
Posted: September 23, 2013
Epitome of Fall
"LOVE this scent! Very similar to BBW's Fireside candle, which was released about 2 years ago with an autumn twist of apple and spices. Burn this candle with some company over with a pumpkin latté and some Mumford & Sons on, and you'll have the epitome of Fall!!!! Definitely a woodsy smell, sort of masculine and string."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Monick
Location: New York
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: seasonally
Posted: September 20, 2013
Dissapointed
"This candle was a huge dissapointment. The burn was flawless but there was no throw at all. At the beginning of the burning I could smell very, very lightly some woods and apples, but two hours later this candle became totally unscented. I love woodsy, fruity scents and I was having high expectations. Unfortunately it was a complete failure. Back to the store and not a repurch."
Review 12 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Jessica W
Location: Colorado
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: seasonally
Posted: September 17, 2013
A new favorite!
"I absolutely love this one! Just as a reference, some of my favorites are Fireside, Mahogany Teakwood, Marshmallow Fireside....mostly the "manly," woodsy, spicy scents.
I can't give a really honest review on throw because the first day I burned this, I burned it for 8 hours. It was a rainy, gloomy day! So I don't feel that I can give a fair review on how well the scent filled the room because after 8 hours, it REALLY filled the room!
I will be stocking up before they are gone."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:taylorlynn
Location: USA
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: seasonally
Posted: September 13, 2013
Smells exactly as it sounds!
"I was surprised I liked this scent so much. It really does smell like a bonfire, but in a good way. This scent is pure fall and makes you want to wrap up in a blanket with a hot cup of coffee."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:crazy4candles
Location: In the hills
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: for everyday use
Posted: September 11, 2013
worst smell ever!
"I am a candle lover of a wide variety of smells... But this one I bought online based on the reviews and it is horrible! It's the 2 scents together that don't belong. I couldn't even light it . I kept going back and smelling it but it made me sick. Very over powering bad smell. I bought 2 and will be returning both for a different smell. I never write reviews but thought I should advise against buying this one!!"
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:miss sniffer
Location: tx
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: for everyday use
Posted: September 4, 2013
apple cider and a crackling fire
"I'm in love! This will be my go to scent this winter. I couldn't stop smelling it in the store. I decided to buy just one to try it out, as it seemed the throw might be a little weak. Boy, am I glad I did! The throw and scent are amazing! It does have that smokey note, if you are normally put off by that, you may want to give this a try. This candle may change that... Very pleasant!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:YummyScents
Location: Seattle, WA
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: September 4, 2013
Husband Loves
"Whenever I buy myself a couple of BBW candles I make sure to pick up at least one scent that I think my hubby will like. He likes the more masculine and smokey smells. He really likes the old fireside as well as marshmellow fireside candles. So I thought he might like this and I was right! He loves it! I like how it has a slight sweetness to it, which is the apple scent coming through. So it appeases both of us, which is hard to do when it comes to candle scents. It reminds me of fall/winter around a camp fire or walking through the neighborhood on a crisp fall evening."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Lani
Location: Wisconsin
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: September 3, 2013
I had to return it...
"I really wanted to like this candle, but I just didn't. I purchased online along with Pumpkin Hayride, and surprisingly, this one found it's way back to the store. To me it smells like Fireside mixed with green apple syrup, or fermenting apples. It is overwhelmingly sweet and those two smells together for me are not mixing well. This candle doesn't 'transport' me anywhere. A home fragrance to me is supposed to be calming, and this is just too in-your-face with the strange apple smell. It is not a crisp, true to life apple smell either. It's distracting. The sweetness just takes over in this one and it's just really taking away from that relaxing, cozy bonfire I hoped to imagine. I think this would have been really nice if they used a crisp apple scent and toned it waaaaay down!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:NurseAutumn
Location: Iowa
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: seasonally
Posted: September 3, 2013
My #1 fall candle
"I am in love with this scent. Growing up my grandfather always burned the leaves he raked in the fall. I loved that smell. Its comforting and a reminder that fall is truly here. There are burn bans now, but there are fall days I just wish I could catch the scent of burning leaves again. BBW has bottled that scent up in this candle. Its not a sweet, flowery scent like a lot of the falls scents are. This is woodsy with just a touch of apple scent. My husband loves this scent as well. I wish the throw was a little stronger, but its still a great fall scent and will be purchasing this one again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:SunnyCocoLoco
Location: Orlando, FL
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: September 3, 2013
Wanted To Love This
"I usually LOVE scents like this... earthy, woodsy, and organic. However, this had zero throw. I burned it for a while and couldn't smell anything, even with my face above the candle. What a bummer! The burn itself was good, though. The cold throw was also light and smelled just like the description (apple and woods). I would repurchase this only if the throw was strong."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14.5 oz. 3-Wick Candle - Applewood Bonfire
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:106th
Location: New York, NY
Usage: for everyday use
Posted: September 2, 2013
Perfect neutral fall scent
"If you like the "Autumn" scent, but want some a touch less fruity, Applewood Bonfire is PERFECT. I usually buy high-end candles when I want that fruit+leather+woody smell, but this is as good or better than my high-end favorites. I imagine it would be a perfect compromise for a couple that doesn't want something as fruity/sweet as Autumn or Leaves, but also not something as cologne-y as Mahogany Teakwood or Sweater Weather. Can't wait until they come out with a Wallflower for this scent, there is nothing else I want my apartment to smell like these days!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
120 of 28 Reviews