Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

C.O. Bigelow The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy

Super-hydrating Glycerin locks in moisture to heal even the driest hands
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
15 of 20(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for C.O. Bigelow The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Review 1 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Gina139
Location: The Woodlands, TX
I am a: Spa Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: April 12, 2014
The best!!!
"Not only do I love how it helps this 58 year old dry very dry hands but I love the scent, it's a scent of comfort. As I've aged my skin gets dryer and I have purchased 100s of items and nothing else helps. Love this and buy it no matter if on sale or not."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Dry hands in Chicago
Location: Chicago suburbs
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: March 27, 2014
Scent is a turn off
"This hand lotion works pretty well, but the smell is so bad that after a few months of using it (as it isn't cheap), I couldn't stand it anymore and had to throw two tubes away."
Review 3 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:tazie
Location: western Maryland
I am a: Beauty Naturalist
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: February 8, 2014
Hands-down best
"This is the ultimate hand cream! I'm 51yrs old and have done my fair share of housework and gardening; this really works. If the smell bothers you, dab a little other moisturizer (B&B of course) along with it. A little dab goes a long way, too. It's pricey, but with a coupon and a good sale, stock up. Soft hands feel good."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:BBW1Lover
Location: Charlotte NY
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: received as a gift
Posted: January 25, 2014
This stuff is the truth!!!
"Recently due to the extremely cold weather, my hands were very dry and burning. I received Chapped Hands Remedy as a gift, and tried it (after nothing else worked). Not only did it stopped the burning, but the lotion made my hands very soft. The lotion does have a slight medicine smells, but as long as it did the job I didn't mind. Highly recommend that everyone has some on hand. I hope that this product never goes away."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:chefhands
Location: miami,FL
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 14, 2014
perfect!!!
"i'm a chef, so i'm always washing my hands. I have used a lot of expensive creams prescribed by my dermatologist but nothing seems to work, so i decided to give a try to this one and, finally i found a cream that works...!!! I put it on my hands before going to sleep, and for the first time I don't wake up at midnight feeling that my hands are going to crack...I really ,really recommend this product. I personally hate creams with any kind of smell, so i was little afraid because of other reviews, but I the smell is normal and not strong and goes away really fast, so it doesn't bother me."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Mel P.
Location: New Hampshire
I am a: Beauty Maven
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: December 11, 2013
Gaaaareeeeesy!!!!!
"I have very dry, chapped hands that get especially dry in the winter. I have been a fan of CO Bigelow's Lemon line for years and decided to give the Chapped Hands Remedy a shot since most intensive hand creams on the market that claim to be medicated and non-greasy, usually never hit the mark. Unfortunately, this product was neither unique or non-greasy as it claims on the label. As far as the claim that it's medicated, I will say this, it does at least "smell" medicated. My handprints leave grease marks on my desk blotter as I type and my hands actually feel more chapped after applying. I have used little amounts, medium amounts and literally slathered it on. No type of application produces anything remotely resembling soft or non-greasy results. This products will not stop me from trying other Bigelow products but if you are looking for an intensive hand treatment for dry, chapped hands, I suggest you save your money and buy some gloves."
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:alncarol8
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: November 30, 2013
Best Cure for Cracked Skin
"This really works, I have extremely dry skin, my hands and feet begin cracking as soon as the weather begins to turn. Thanksgiving day I was cooking all day so I was washing my hands more than I normally do, they were in terrible condition by the end of the day. I opened the cabinet only to find that I had a limited supply of this cream. I am ordering my annual supply, put this on at bedtime and wear a pair a gloves, your hands will be soft and healed in the morning. I use different lotions but nothing works like this cream. I agree it smells like icy hot but it works don't worry about the smell. This is a must for the winter."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:KimberlyP
Location: Orlando, Fl
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: October 20, 2013
Miracle in a tube!
"I'm a nurse. I must wash my hands or use alcohol foam in/out of my patient's rooms at least 50-75 times a day or more. My hands are so dry and cracked from the constant washing, and it's so embarrasing! I get tiny fissures around the tips of my nail beds, my cuticles peel, and my hands just feel like sand paper. Its just horrible! I have tried every known hand cream; department store creams to drugstore lotions, and nothing has helped! I just wash my hands too much for them to heal! I was looking at ideas for stocking stuffers online at B&BW and came across this lotion. I read the reviews and went straight to the store the next day to try it for myself. I'm not sure what the other reviewer was talking about in regards to the horrible smell, maybe she got a bad batch? Not sure, but, it does have a SLIGHT medicinal smell to it, only until it's absorbed into your skin though. After you put some on, and a little goes a long way, you might think it has a greasy feeling, but it doesn't! It's the glycerin in the cream! Once the glycerin is absorbed, you can't feel any "greasiness" or smell anything. I can't believe how soft my hands feel after only using this for 48 hours! My cuticles don't appear dry and peeling, and my hands actually look like a normal person's hands! It truly is a miracle in a tube! IT'S AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:toxxin99a
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: August 2, 2013
Horrible smell
"It goes on super thick and greasy, smells like icy hot and doesn't even do the job. Not worth the purchase."
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:NJTB
Location: Virginia
I am a: Spa Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: May 2, 2013
Absolute best I have ever used
"My hands needed a lot of help. When I asked the sales clerk at B&BW she recommended this. After the first use I was a believer. I have even started using it on my face! And I swear it works better than those $100+ moisturizers I have bought in the past. I am now ordering this stuff 6 at a time. Now I am trying other products by them hoping for the same results. If they ever stop selling this stuff I will cry. The smell is slightly medicinal but disappears soon after it is used. Love it!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Tyki13
Location: Laredo, TX
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: gave as a gift
Posted: April 14, 2013
Awesome, really works!
"My husband has REALLY bad dry, chapped hands. During winter they get so bad they bleed where they crack in between his fingers. He's tried everything! I was at the Bath and Body store in Laredo, Tx. and asked the associate (Christina) if she recommended anything because I had tried sooo many things to no avail. She recommended this. She said many of the oil field workers come in to buy this. She did tell me that it had a slight medicine type smell. She said, "try it out...you can return it if he doesn't like it". IT REALLY WORKS!!! It does have a slight "medicinal" smell, but nothing overpowering, and nothing that others will notice. I have a very keen sense of smell, but after my husband applies it, it pretty much is gone. He never asks for any product (you know how guys are), but he will ask me to please buy him this when he runs low. I highly recommend this product - if you've tried other products, including high end products, with no results!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Mousie
Location: Tampa, Florida
I am a: Indulgent Pampering Seeker
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: April 3, 2013
Amazing!
"I went into B&BW the other night seeking a solution for my hands which had for some reason, started cracking and peeling. I suspected it might have to do with having to wear vinyl gloves a lot at work. The associate recommended this to me so I decided oh why not. After one use, my hands were almost completely back to normal! Wow. I wasn't expecting it to work so well. The stuff stinks a bit though. I guess you know it's good when you can't tolerate a part of it. Heh."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:jogo62
Location: Texas
Posted: January 18, 2013
Can't get past the smell
"The product works great but the smell is awful! I will only put this on my hands when I am going to sleep at night so that the smell doesn't bother me. Other than that, the product works great. But that smell...."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:PeterD
Location: Little Rock, AR
I am a: Luxury Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: November 9, 2012
Great, but that SMELL
"I found the tester for this product in the store today, and I was immediately sold on it. My hands felt instantly repaired, and I purchased it. I neglected to smell my hands after applying the product, and when I got into my car I noticed it. Why, I asked myself, am I smelling lube? Yes, all personal lubricant has that smell (glycerin maybe?), and it usually takes a couple of vigorous washes to get the odor off your skin. When I got home, I washed my hands thoroughly. Hours later, it's still there. I'm nervous that I'm going to be in public or at work and people are going to smell it and think who knows what. I figure that I'll just use it at bedtime, but hopefully it won't rub off and make my sheets smell."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:CreativeNailChick
Location: Bakersfield, CA
I am a: High Maintenance
Posted: April 9, 2012
Great!
"I buy Chapped Hands for my mom and she loves it! After cleaning her house or gardening, she's bound to end up with extremely dry hands. Just a few days in a row of using Chapped Hands, her hands are smoother and just about back to normal."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:Kelister
Location: Novi, MI
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: monthly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 15, 2012
The Healer
"One morning in the shower I accidentally cut myself shaving my legs. It was not a pretty scene. Anyways, at work I mentioned it to my co-worker who suggested I purchase this product. She promised it would heal my leg. Since I work at the mall, I went across the hall & popped into a BBW & purchased this product. I put it on right away. The next day it looked better. By the end of the week there was no trace of my cuts! And unfortunately, they had been pretty deep. I am hooked for life!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:memememe
Location: West Virginia
I am a: Indulgent Pampering Seeker
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 9, 2012
IN LOVE
"I have never used a hand cream as amazing as this. It is not greasy and it moisturizes all day long. I use this after the True Blue 60 sec manicure instead of Look Ma, New Hands...works a lot better for me."
Review 18 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Viviane
Location: Michigan
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 7, 2012
a litte goes a long way
"I have worked in the medical field for over 15 years and so I use a lot of strong antibacterial soaps at the hospital and at home although antibacterial is good for killing germs it sometimes really wear you skin and make it dry. So this is doc's prescription: I would recommend: 1. 60 second manicure = this sugar-based exfoliating treatment makes quick work of dull, dry skin and ragged cuticles to give even the most dry peeling cuticles and hands feeling soft, smooth, spa manicure perfection - in just one minute. In combination 2. Look ma new hands = Protects you skin with paraffin and enriches and nourishes your skin with it's powerful ingredients. Finally 3. C.O. bigelow dry hands cream = non greasy, wonderful cream I use at night time and it miraculously restores my skin during the night so I wake up to soft as can be and re-hydrated and nourished hands in the morning.A little goes a long way. There you go BBW has done it again. In combination even the most deprived hands can come to life again feeling healthy and moist and it's really worth the price. Other products comparable cost double the price and who has time for spas really??? So how to get perfect hands: Exfoliate, re-hydrate and Nourish. Perfect."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Bambi2278
Location: VA
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: December 21, 2011
Miracle
"Miracle is what I call this hand lotion. In colder weather, my hands, particularly my knuckles, become so dry that they crack and bleed. All other lotions, creams, and balms I've tried have stung so badly on application leaving my hands red, throbbing in pain and not even healing my condition. When my hands are at their worst, cracked and bleeding, this chapped hands remedy causes at most a mild tingling and relieves my dryness after one application! The effects last 24 hours, and with regular application my hands are entirely normal. A bonus is that it's not greasy. I wholeheartedly recommend CO Bigelow's Chapped Hands Remedy."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Ultimate Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:didandy
Location: Gainesville, MO
I am a: Low Maintenance
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: December 20, 2011
Wonderful
"I suffer from psoriasis on my hands in which they constantly peel and bleed and become so stiff they are unusable and hurt really bad so I ordered some of this and in a day it made a difference! I still have some peeling but my hands are beyond better! It is worth more than words can say to be able to not be in constant pain and to be able to actually use my hands again for the first time in a year and a half! I am an artist as well as an owner of a dairy farm and today I handpainted a Christmas ornament for my kids and a week ago that was impossible! I just orderd 3 more tubes and will not do without again!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.