Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

C.O. Bigelow Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy

Super-hydrating Glycerin locks in moisture to heal even the driest hands
Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
13 of 17(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for C.O. Bigelow Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Review 1 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:KenBig
Location: Colrain, Mass
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: February 20, 2016
My go-to moisturizer everyday
"Greatest. I use this stuff everyday, even on my face, and I have sensitive skin. After a shower, or washing up while skin is still moist, apply Chapped Hands Remedy to lock in moisture. It is the only thing I use for my very dry skin. If you are someone that likes a product like Eucerin, then this product is for you. In my opinion, it is not strong smelling. Just a mild minty smell. (the Mentha line is strong and invigorating)."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:Kayla21
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posted: January 20, 2016
"Improves dry skin noticeably in one use!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Spring Honey
Location: Brooklyn, NY
I am a: Indulgent Pampering Seeker
Posted: December 3, 2015
LOVEEEEEEE
"people LOVE to complain. the lotion is fantastic. the smell is NOT THAT STRONG. it does not smell like vapor rub at all. and even if it did, what so bad about that? yes some menthol is added to the glycerin for a COOLING effect which is great. it really works great on dry chapped hands, it IS NON GREASY, considering it is 40% glycerin. the lotion over all is excellent. the only problem is that its very very expensive for a small tube."
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:ChoiceNotes
Location: USA
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Something I: received as a gift
Posted: August 18, 2015
#MEDICINAL
"i WILL SAY THIS LOTION ACTS AS REALLY A MEDICATION OR SUPPLEMENTAL USAGE. IF YOU SUFFER FROM DRY CHAPPED HANDS, I WOULD USE THIS AFTER A SHOWER BEFORE BED AND REALLY ALLOW THE ESSENTIAL OILS TO FEED THE SKIN. IT DOES HAVE A MENTHOL SMELL AND I ALSO PICKED UP A FISH OIL/ FLAX SEED OIL SCENT. I HONESTLY WOULD USE THIS AT NIGHT WITH TOWEL GLOVES TO REALLY SECURE THE FORMULA. IF YOU MUST USE IT DURING THE DAY JUST APPLY OVER THE DRY AREAS AS OPPOSED TO USING IT AS AN ALL OVER HAND LOTION."
16 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:NYCpeach
Location: New York, NY
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: May 9, 2015
"The reviews for this product were mostly positive, so I disregarded the ones that were not. I wish I had paid more attention to reviews from dissatisfied customers. The product smells like vapor rub, except a much STRONGER version of that smell. Additionally, it is VERY greasy. Imagine taking a couple tubes of chapstick and rubbing it all on your hands. That's how this stuff feels. If you can tolerate the smell and thick greasy feeling, I'm sure your hands will be super soft. I, however, could not handle it. I returned all 3 tubes."
13 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:monik
Location: Ohio
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 30, 2015
Good stuff
"My husband uses this at bedtime when his hands need a healing touch. Does a great job when skin gets so dry it cracks and hangnails bleed. It does have a medicinal scent, but works great!"
15 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Hard working Mom.
Location: West Falls, NY
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 17, 2015
Phenom Product!
"I work with my hands, I am a stained glass artisan. With all the chemicals my hands come in contact with, as well as living in the cold northeast, my hands take some serious abuse. This product, after using for just three days, has made my hands unbelievably soft. They don't hurt, no more cracks, and they look ten years younger. I LOVE this product!"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:kate99
Location: Midwest
I am a: Beauty Naturalist
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: November 4, 2014
Heals dry skin fissures better than anything
"I have extremely dry skin, and can develop skin cracks and fissures. One of my worst problems would seem an odd candidate for a "hand cream": my CPAP machine (sleep apnea breathing machine) causes painful dry skin cracks at the base of my nose which even bleed sometimes. I have tried pretty much everything, and this is the only non-prescription remedy that prevents and/or fixes it. This stuff is MAGIC at any price point."
29 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Gina139
Location: The Woodlands, TX
I am a: Spa Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: April 12, 2014
The best!!!
"Not only do I love how it helps this 58 year old dry very dry hands but I love the scent, it's a scent of comfort. As I've aged my skin gets dryer and I have purchased 100s of items and nothing else helps. Love this and buy it no matter if on sale or not."
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Dry hands in Chicago
Location: Chicago suburbs
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: March 27, 2014
Scent is a turn off
"This hand lotion works pretty well, but the smell is so bad that after a few months of using it (as it isn't cheap), I couldn't stand it anymore and had to throw two tubes away."
9 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:tazie
Location: western Maryland
I am a: Beauty Naturalist
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: February 8, 2014
Hands-down best
"This is the ultimate hand cream! I'm 51yrs old and have done my fair share of housework and gardening; this really works. If the smell bothers you, dab a little other moisturizer (B&B of course) along with it. A little dab goes a long way, too. It's pricey, but with a coupon and a good sale, stock up. Soft hands feel good."
24 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:BBW1Lover
Location: Charlotte NY
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: received as a gift
Posted: January 25, 2014
This stuff is the truth!!!
"Recently due to the extremely cold weather, my hands were very dry and burning. I received Chapped Hands Remedy as a gift, and tried it (after nothing else worked). Not only did it stopped the burning, but the lotion made my hands very soft. The lotion does have a slight medicine smells, but as long as it did the job I didn't mind. Highly recommend that everyone has some on hand. I hope that this product never goes away."
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:chefhands
Location: miami,FL
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 14, 2014
perfect!!!
"i'm a chef, so i'm always washing my hands. I have used a lot of expensive creams prescribed by my dermatologist but nothing seems to work, so i decided to give a try to this one and, finally i found a cream that works...!!! I put it on my hands before going to sleep, and for the first time I don't wake up at midnight feeling that my hands are going to crack...I really ,really recommend this product. I personally hate creams with any kind of smell, so i was little afraid because of other reviews, but I the smell is normal and not strong and goes away really fast, so it doesn't bother me."
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:Mel P.
Location: New Hampshire
I am a: Beauty Maven
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: December 11, 2013
Gaaaareeeeesy!!!!!
"I have very dry, chapped hands that get especially dry in the winter. I have been a fan of CO Bigelow's Lemon line for years and decided to give the Chapped Hands Remedy a shot since most intensive hand creams on the market that claim to be medicated and non-greasy, usually never hit the mark. Unfortunately, this product was neither unique or non-greasy as it claims on the label. As far as the claim that it's medicated, I will say this, it does at least "smell" medicated. My handprints leave grease marks on my desk blotter as I type and my hands actually feel more chapped after applying. I have used little amounts, medium amounts and literally slathered it on. No type of application produces anything remotely resembling soft or non-greasy results. This products will not stop me from trying other Bigelow products but if you are looking for an intensive hand treatment for dry, chapped hands, I suggest you save your money and buy some gloves."
15 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:alncarol8
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: November 30, 2013
Best Cure for Cracked Skin
"This really works, I have extremely dry skin, my hands and feet begin cracking as soon as the weather begins to turn. Thanksgiving day I was cooking all day so I was washing my hands more than I normally do, they were in terrible condition by the end of the day. I opened the cabinet only to find that I had a limited supply of this cream. I am ordering my annual supply, put this on at bedtime and wear a pair a gloves, your hands will be soft and healed in the morning. I use different lotions but nothing works like this cream. I agree it smells like icy hot but it works don't worry about the smell. This is a must for the winter."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:KimberlyP
Location: Orlando, Fl
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: October 20, 2013
Miracle in a tube!
"I'm a nurse. I must wash my hands or use alcohol foam in/out of my patient's rooms at least 50-75 times a day or more. My hands are so dry and cracked from the constant washing, and it's so embarrasing! I get tiny fissures around the tips of my nail beds, my cuticles peel, and my hands just feel like sand paper. Its just horrible! I have tried every known hand cream; department store creams to drugstore lotions, and nothing has helped! I just wash my hands too much for them to heal! I was looking at ideas for stocking stuffers online at B&BW and came across this lotion. I read the reviews and went straight to the store the next day to try it for myself. I'm not sure what the other reviewer was talking about in regards to the horrible smell, maybe she got a bad batch? Not sure, but, it does have a SLIGHT medicinal smell to it, only until it's absorbed into your skin though. After you put some on, and a little goes a long way, you might think it has a greasy feeling, but it doesn't! It's the glycerin in the cream! Once the glycerin is absorbed, you can't feel any "greasiness" or smell anything. I can't believe how soft my hands feel after only using this for 48 hours! My cuticles don't appear dry and peeling, and my hands actually look like a normal person's hands! It truly is a miracle in a tube! IT'S AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
38 of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Medicated Skin Protectant - Chapped Hands Remedy
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:toxxin99a
Location: Winston Salem, NC
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: August 2, 2013
Horrible smell
"It goes on super thick and greasy, smells like icy hot and doesn't even do the job. Not worth the purchase."
8 of 14 people found this review helpful.