Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Signature Collection Body Lotion - Black Amethyst

A hypnotic blend of bergamot & camellias--available only online!
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
47 of 66(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Signature Collection Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Review 1 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:melly28
Location: Chicago, IL
I am a: Spa Lover
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: received as a gift
Posted: August 7, 2014
Very strong womanly scent
"This scent is very strong.... My opinion is that Black Amethyst would be considered a scent for older women."
Review 2 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:shannonny
Location: San Diego
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: August 3, 2014
An Elegant Option, Like Fine Perfume
"I am currently in crazy-love with BBW. It was never even on my radar until several months ago, and now I can't stay away. I had a fine perfume passion a couple of years ago and collected fairly pricey bottles. I think it's safe to say that BBW is a mid-market option, catering to more commonplace tastes, and that's O.K. There's a certain honor in making approachable, friendly scents that don't cost a week's wages.
The reason I like Black Amethyst best of all that I've tried, and I have about 10 fragrance collections now, is that it smells like fine perfume. Though called Black Amethyst there is a green-yellow note when first applied from the citrusy bergamot, but it's so beautifully underlaid with something soft that it just breathes and gives life to the deeper, more "purple" notes.
The crisp vetiver is an elegant touch in what could have been just another BBW vanilla mash. I wish there was an EDP of this. I like Forever Midnight EDP but it's penetratingly sweet--Black Amethyst is so much more refined, with a sort of clean sweetness, a freshness atop the floral and woody base notes. It could be French perfume.
My only real complaint with all BBW products is how quickly the scent fades on me, and I'm a dedicated layer-er! I'm lucky to get an hour out of even Forever Midnight or Japanese Cherry Blossom. Still, with the excellent sales that are always available, it's an affordable enough indulgence to layer and spray, layer and spray, again and again."
Review 3 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Flobaby
Location: Florida
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 27, 2014
In a Class By Itself
"I would say that this is BBW's most unusual fragrance, and it is also an acquired taste. When I first smelled this lotion I was not sure that it would work as a bath product. It was a lot like strong incense or potpourri. Very woodsy with some strong fragrance notes. But when I tried it on and let it sink in a little, I found that it really worked for me personally. It does "tone down" after a while, and the scent that remains--almost a spicy chocolate kind of smell--is AWESOME! The in-store fragrance line that is most like this one is probably "Forever Midnight", but there is nothing quite like this scent. "Dark Kiss" is a little kin to it too, but that one is much tamer. If you are tired of the "same old" scents and want something completely different, give this a try. My husband actually likes this one, and complimented me when I wore it one night, and ordinarily he is NOT a scent guy. Great for the night time--not so much of a daytime scent. 5 stars PLUS."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Godislove
Location: Los Angeles,ca
Posted: January 2, 2014
My fav scent ever!! <3
"I just absolutely LOVE this scent. Please bring back to stores, so that I may purchase it. Not an online shopper.
Black amethyst is a sexy womanly scent perfect for a romantic and sexy night."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:kll2218
Location: Wichita, KS
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: December 31, 2013
BRING BACK TO STORES!!
"I was introduced to Black Amethyst 4 years ago. A friend was wearing it and she smelled SO good! I am honestly not much of a "Bath & Body" fragrance wearer. In fact, besides the occasional stocking stuffer scent, I had never worn anything from B&BW before. Black Amethyst smells rich & wonderful. It is a unique fragrance and I am truly HOOKED. I keep it in rotation right up next to Flowerbomb, Chance by Chanel & Lancome La vie est Belle. The biggest disappointment was when they took it out of stores and made it an online exclusive. PLEASE consider bringing this scent back. It is too fabulous to keep tucked away in a warehouse!!!"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Black Amethyst Favorite
Location: California
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: September 4, 2013
Love Black Amethyst
"This is the best scent ever. Since it has been discontinued in the stores I have tried other scents. I do not like them nearly as much. I was trying to order this scent (lotion) on line only to find it out of stock. This is such an enticing scent it should be continued in stores and at minimum be available on line."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:curly q 36
Location: Warwick, RI
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: July 21, 2013
Best Scent
"This is my favorite scent, have not found one i like since it has not been available at the store for purchase. Fresh sexy scent! I hope it is not going to be discontinued and PLEASE START CARRYING IT IN THE STORE AGAIN! I cannot understand why such a wonderful scent would not be available at the store!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:curly q 36
Location: Warwick
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: July 12, 2013
Best scent!
"Love this scent it is my favorite! Have not found another that i like since it has not been carried in store. Please do not stop making it & PLEASE START CARRYING IT IN STORE AGAIN!!!"
Review 9 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:TexasGirl88
Location: TX
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: July 3, 2013
No.
"I ordered this online so I really had no idea what this would smell like. But the way it is described sounded intriguing to me and some reviewers compared it to dark kiss which I currently tried as well and now LOVE. So I gave it a try. Out of everything I ordered, I was most excited to smell this one so I opened it and smelled it from the bottle and thought it smelled good. I put a little on my arm. Big difference from the way it smells in the bottle. To me, this smells very spicy, and there is something in it that smells like bug spray. I'm really not kidding. The flower tone is overshadowed by the other smells. It is very overwhelming. It is one of those scents that goes up your nose and stays there. I must say, it is an interesting smell. But not one that I like. There is a tone in there that I liked, I guess the flower but it was overshadowed by the spicy bug spray smell that takes the center stage. I just don't get this fragrance at all. I'm not writing this review to be mean it is just my honest opinion. And maybe it will help someone else who is on the fence about this one. I will add that I am not one of those who doesn't like heavier fragrances. And I like fragrances that are unique. But I just cannot stand the overbearing tone in this one. This truly is a love it or hate it type of fragrance. I guess you'll just have to try it for yourself to know for sure."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:mrs.m
Location: florida
I am a: Indulgent Pampering Seeker
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: July 2, 2013
Its the best.
"I have not been able to find any other lotion like this one, please bring it back. My co workers and customers, say to you smell good and I love the compliments, some say I know that smell and tell me they purchase it too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Grama
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posted: July 2, 2013
Please dont stop making this scent,,
"This is my favorite scent. I always get compliments no matter what time of year. I live in Florida and it wears perfect here. Plase keep making this scent."
Review 12 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:RedRaven
Location: Iowa
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: monthly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: June 15, 2013
Grown Up Sexy Scent!
"You're either going to love or hate this scent, I don't think there is an in-between. I personally love it! This is a very sexy, sultry, wear it and own it kind of scent. I do not wear it during the warmer months because I feel it is a little heavy then, but I totally rock it once it gets cooler. This isn't a sweet fragrance by any means, it's very sultry, but with the right chemistry and attitude, watch out!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Greenwood
Location: Minnesota
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: May 29, 2013
Please, don't get rid of this.
"Next to Dark Kiss, my all-time favorite, Black Amethyst is the best scent B&BW has. It's deep and bold; not at all for the immature or faint of heart. It's empowering, and when I put it on I feel like a confident woman who can take on the world. The market has enough fruity and floral scents, and enough "sexy" scents that are filled with musk (which I detest). Please stop marketing to teenie boppers; that's wha Victoria's Secret products are for. Make products for mature women and for bold women and for young women like me who like a little mystery and adventure. DON'T GET RID OF THIS SCENT, I beg you!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:justarry
Location: Los Angeles
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: March 10, 2013
Very Unique
"I gave it 4 stars because it is not good in every form that it is sold in. the lotion lasts longer without losing its original scent than the cream, although I feel the cream holds the smell better initially. It is still very good in the cream, but you need to use it quickly or else it can turn bad, in which case you can only smell the old cream smell at that point. I gave 5 stars for the fragrance because it is original and unlike any other fragrance at B& B. You have to understand the sophistication of the fragrance in order to appreciate it. If you like dark smells such as Gucci Envy, you will understand why this fragrance is well-loved (it does not smell like Gucci Envy, but for those of you who know the scent, you will understand what family this scent is in and its dark mysterious tone). I love this fragrance because it makes me feel feminine yet sophisticated, instead of just feminine. Do not expect it to have any florals in it. It does smell exactly like its name, Black Amethyst. This is what I expect from its name. I wouldn't recommend this product to anyone, and most of my friends wouldn't like this scent, which is the only reason why I don't usually recommend this. However, you will like it if you gravitate toward dark and musky scents. this one is a good one. It makes you feel intelligent and powerful."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:daj1
Location: Riverside CA
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: February 12, 2013
"I hope someone from Bath and Body is reading the reviews on this because I feel the same way...DO NOT get rid of this scent!!! I too receive compliments ALL the time on this and I love the way it smells . Please put it back in stores!!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Love Black Amethyst
Location: Logan, UT
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 16, 2013
ABSOLUTE BEST fragrance EVER!!!
"This is my MOST favorite fragrance! Black Amethyst is what introduced me to Bath and Body works! I found a small travel size lotion at work and fell in love! I've never had more compliments than when I wear this lotion...it's the BEST! I'm SOOOO sad that it is no longer in the stores! :( PLEASE don't ever get rid of this fragrance!!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Chlorox
Location: Cedar Creek, Tx
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: December 28, 2012
Can't live without
"This is by far the best product I've ever used by Bath and Body Works. I noticed they dont sell this in the stores anymore and im really sad about it. I was going to buy a whole bunch of them. I do't go to the stores anymore because this fragrance isn't there. Kinda sad I know but this is the best smell EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:STLDIVAQUEEN
Location: St. Louis
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: December 26, 2012
2 SEXY 4 U!!!
"This is my fav from BBW! I was shocked 2 hear that it's not sold in stores! This is a grown n sexy scent. Not 4 the shy at all. Feels very sexy! Had 2 stock up online. Please continue 2 make this available 4 those whom luv it!!!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Lady 40
Location: QUEENS,NY
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: December 26, 2012
BEST SCENT
"BLACK AMETHYST I LOVE THIS SCENT WHEN I WEAR THIS EVERYONE WILL STOP ME AND ASK WHAT I'M WEARING. LIKE THE OTHER I'M VERY DISAPPOINTED THAT THEY ARE GOING TO DISCONTINUED THIS SCENT. BLACK AMETHYST IS THE BEST I'VE USED IN A LONG TIME LOVE THE SCENT."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Body Lotion - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:merre
Location: thousand oaks, ca
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: December 25, 2012
Black Amethyst
"PLLLLLLLLEEEEEEAAAAASSSSEEEEE put this scent back on the shelf. I love it and was so disappointed when it wasn't available in my local store. Thank goodness a clerk told me to check on line. Really this is a sophisticated fragrance that modern, mature women like to smell good in the office without being offensive. Please reconsider."
120 of 66 Reviews