Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Bath & Body Works.

Signature Collection Shower Gel - Black Amethyst

Average Customer Rating:
3.913 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
16 of 23(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Signature Collection Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Review 1 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:BlsckAmythest4ever
Location: Fowler, Ca
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: December 19, 2012
PLEASE KEEP THIS SCENT!!!!
"I too was soooooo sad when a BBW employee in the mall told me they were getting rid of this scent. So I bought a few off the website. This is the only scent my husband likes of all their scents. This is also one of the only ones that lasts almost all day long. I like it because it is not too fruity or flowery. It has a really nice clean scent to it. Please oh please BBW do not get rid of this scent. I can see from the forums others feel the same way."
Review 2 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:his girl 331
Location: Miami, FL
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: December 18, 2012
Best Fragrance ever
"I was highly upset when I was told this fragrance was no longer sold in stores. I use to go to the store just to buy this soap. I use it very slowly so it can last longer and now that it's not sold in stores, I use other fragrances so the bottles i still have can last even longer. Now that i found out that it is still sold online, maybe i will buy some more. BBW you need to make some more and put it back in stores. :)"
Review 3 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:1cjbb
Location: California
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: November 22, 2012
Best Fragrance Ever
"Mmmhhh, aaahhhh Black Amethyst!!!! I love this fragrance. My current
Fave Signature scent since B&B first came out with this fragrance. When I first saw advertisement and read the scent notes, I was intrigued. Once I smelled this fragrance in my favorite B&B store few years ago I was hooked, right on the spot. I've bought maaaany B&B body care shower gels, lotions, mists over the years, but this one tops all. Smells like a classy woman's scent. I love that the beautiful fragrance lasts all day like some more expensive department store fragrances. I love that it has a scent that's not very strong, and may be worn year round. I would use it more lightly during spring and summer months. Beautiful fragrance indeed.
"
Review 4 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:GrandmaBelleBelle
Location: Ohio
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: October 21, 2012
Awful
"I'm sorry for those who like this but I think it smells like dirty feet after a sweaty workout...too strong and too stinky...We had a patient come to our doctor's office who wore it and we had to shut the room up after she left and spray it down...so bad...this is not just me, but 8 office staff, the doctor and a waiting room full of woman..."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Reviewed by:LadyDeathMetal
Location: Earth
Posted: October 18, 2012
"One of my favorites from four years ago. I very, VERY rarely use the lotions but I found a small bottle of this fragrance in a lotion and that's when it became one of my favorites. It smells sultry and warm and makes you feel sexy and dressed up just by smelling it!"
Review 6 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:shame
Location: KY
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: October 13, 2012
shame
"BBW should read these reviews...cannot believe they are taking away this product from the store shelves. This is a serious scent whereas the other scents available are always too fruity or floral."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Kim K
Location: Indiana
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: September 26, 2012
Please! Please! Please!
"I love Black Amethyst so much, and I was so sad when I was told that it had been discontinued! I'm a long time Bath and Body customer (I even worked there for awhile), and out of all of the scents I have used over the years, I have never received more complements than I do when I wear Black Amethyst! Please, please, please reconsider!! I was told by a store clerk that I should try Sensual Amber because it's almost the same....she's wrong. Sensual Amber is nice, but it's not the same! She also told me that they had many customers upset over the loss of Black Amethyst....listen to your customers!"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:Mad about fragrances
Location: Utah
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: September 6, 2012
Never tire of it!
"I have to admit I tire of fragrances, and I've stocked up on so many B&BW products that I forget about some of them for a while. That's what happened with this one. And then this morning, I fished out the EDT and sprayed some of it on my wrist. It smells divine! I'm extremely disappointed to find that the fragrance is discontinued. I got multiple products from this fragrance line, and gifted an entire set to my best friend, who also loves it! So, yes, I would agree with others who say - BRING IT BACK!"
Review 9 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:cjbarber
Location: Conway, AR
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: August 30, 2012
BRING IT BACK!!!!!!!!
"This is my all-time favorite scent! I had purchased the 1 cologne, 2 shower gel, 1 body spray in December. I am just about out of all three when I went to the store yesterday to buy replacements, I was told it was discontinued! I know I scared the store worker when I almost yelled "WHAT?!?!" for which I apologize! =( But this and White Citrus are my two scents...please bring it back! I am trying Be Enchanted, while it's nice, it's NOT my Black Amethyst! PLEASE BRING IT BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Review 10 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:TENDERONI
Location: QUEENS, NY
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: July 18, 2012
PLEASE BRING IT BACK! :'(
"I MUST SAY THAT THIS IS AN AMAZING FRAGRANCE, NO MATTER WHERE/WHEN I WEAR THIS FRAGRANCE SOME1 IS ALWAYS ASKING "WHAT IS THAT THAT UR WEARING?" NEVER A TIME THAT I'M NOT TOLD HOW GOOOOOD I SMELL:) CAN'T IMAGINE Y IT'S NOT AVAILABLE IN STORES ANYMORE BUT......PLS BRING IT BACK!!
VERY SEXXXY ;)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Reviewed by:cleo777
Location: Vancouver, Canada
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: June 14, 2012
Rotting Wood
"Yep, that's what it smells of to me. Well at least I smelled it in the store first, rotting, moldy dead trees is what it reminds me of. Blech! Glad it's being discontinued, hopefully they replace it with something better. They do have lots of great scents, but this is not one of them IMO. Fail!"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:NurseNajdek
Location: Texas
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: as a special treat
Something I: gave as a gift
Posted: June 13, 2012
Very Nice!
"I give this scent as a gift to one of my staff and she loves it. It's a sexy scent that she gets lots of compliments on. I would definitely recommend!"
Review 13 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:Shayde
Location: Pasadena, CA
I am a: Indulgent Pampering Seeker
Usage: monthly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: April 17, 2012
Sexy scent!
"I like Black Amethyst a lot! Like previous reviewers said, it's unisex and isn't overly feminine.
It's has fruit, but a complex rich musk too. It's a winner. However, I love this even more in Triple Moisture Shower Cream aka Creamy Body Wash. Unfortunately, BBW discontinued it for Black Amethyst so now we only have the shower gel, which is no where as moisturizing!
Please bring the Shower Cream or Creamy Body Wash back for this fabulicious scent!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:EauDeFleurs
Location: Pennsylvania
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: March 30, 2012
A unisex scent
"I bought this because I was looking to try something different and I liked the notes that are listed for this fragrance.
This scent opens up with vetiver and patchouli and is strong.
Magnolia,gardenia and tuberose are flowers that have a slightly spicy note to them.So they tend to be strong and drown out any light scents that are mixed with them.
Because all the above notes are dominant I can't pick out any of these other notes;vanilla,sandalwood,Bergamot Italian Oprur, Juicy Mandarin, Sparkling Tangerine, Zesty Orange, Waterfruits, Crisp Melon,Lily of the Valley,Freesia.
However,I think the light flowers and fruits take some of the edge off of the vetiver and patchouli.
Black Amethyst is a unisex perfume.It doesn't smell too feminine or sweet at all in my opinion.I would compare this with a classic men's cologne/aftershave or a strong women's perfume from the 80's(as another reviewer has described it).
It lathers well.This body wash doesn't moisturize very well (B&BW don't moisturize that well in my opinion), but it doesn't leave your skin tight or itchy.
I don't think this is horrible, but it is not something I would use on a regular basis.
I would recommend it for a woman is bold and confident or a man who likes a classic colognes.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:SkullLover7
Location: Falling Waters, WV
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: monthly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: March 20, 2012
"This is very sexy, daring, and bold. Not your typical floral smell Thank God I really dislike Japanese Cherry Blossom and Sweet Pea so it is nice to have a floral smell like Black Amethyst."
Review 16 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Sophistikitten
Location: Michigan
Posted: February 13, 2012
Wonderful
"I so LOVE Black Amethyst!!!!!!!! It doesn't have the overly sweet, rotten fruit odor of so many of the newer fragrances. Best thing is the MANY compliments I have received when wearing it, all have said it smells so luxurious. My husband especially likes it. He says it is very sultry."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Reviewed by:SanFranny
Location: San Francisco, CA
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Posted: January 24, 2012
Possibly
"Daring and bold are both words that I would associate with this scent. Two words that I would not associate with this scent are wearable and light. Very overpowering. Similar to Black raspberry vanilla and Secret wonderland, but not as appealing. I would not recommend it as much as the other two."
Review 18 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Barbie
Location: Georgia
I am a: Luxury Lover
Usage: monthly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: January 8, 2012
Stunning Scent!
"I'm all about the rich, empowering scent this gives off when I shower!
My husband never fails to comment on the "lingering cloud of perfume" that I'm wearing when I use this.
(Though after 20+ years with each other, I'm never quite sure why he thinks I wear perfume after a bath or shower?)
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Reviewed by:Lanner
Location: New York, NY
I am a: Luxury Lover
Posted: December 19, 2011
BLEH!!!!!!!!!
"NO THANK-YOU!! This is supposed to be romantic right?? Then why do I turn my nose up at this. One Word: BLEH!!!!!!"
Review 20 for Shower Gel - Black Amethyst
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Reviewed by:SparklyZebra
Location: Ft.Lauderdale, FL
I am a: Indulgent Pampering Seeker
Usage: monthly
Something I: purchased for myself
Posted: December 2, 2011
Changed Formula?
"I used to adore this scent about 2 or 3 years ago but I was recently in the store and smelled the soap, thinking I would stock up. However, this smelled nothing like what I remembered. I hope they didn't change the formula because I will not purchase this now. Please put it back!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
120 of 23 Reviews