Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

True Blue Spa Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold

Tan with a tantalizing tropical fragrance!
Average Customer Rating:
4.118 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
13 of 17(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for True Blue Spa Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Review 1 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:Live2shop
Orlando, FL
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Highly recommend
Posted: July 5, 2014
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I love this product. I have used numerous self tanners, but this is the best I've ever used. The color is gorgeous on my fair skin, and lasts longer than other self-tanners that I've used. I usually use once a week to keep my tan going all summer. I exfoliate and moisturize prior to usage and use a dab of vaseline on my knees, heels, and elbows. I do wish the product were unscented because it doesn't match any of the body sprays/lotions that I use, but the aroma seems to fade quickly after application, so is not an issue for me. I certainly don't notice that it's long lasting in the room where I apply it, as someone else noted."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:Mrs Qball
Mountville, PA
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
LOVE! LOVE! LOVE!
Posted: June 24, 2014
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I love this product! I have a hard time tanning evenly so when I came across Strike Gold I fell in love! I've been using for a couple of years now and I'm sure for many more. Happy tanning everyone :)"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:Loves the beach
Holt, Missouri
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Love the tan I get with this product!
Posted: June 22, 2014
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
"Being fair skinned I don't tan well. I have used this product for several years and love it! People will compliment me on my tan and are surprised when I tell them it is a self tanner! I love how it goes on with the color so you can see where you have applied. My only issue is the new scent. Previous years when I have purchased this product the scent has been a dreamy coconut tropical scent which was not overpowering, but very appealing to me. This year's product has a new scent that I personally do not care for. It does seem overpowering and I'm not sure if I can continue to use the product because of the smell. Love the tan I achieve, but miss the coconut scent."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:Airing out
North Carolina
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Way TOO harsh of a smell!!!!!!
Posted: June 1, 2014
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
"I had tried the Gradual Tanner, the smell isn't the best, but no where near as HARSH as the Strike Gold Tanner. The smell is overwhelming! The odor was suffocating in my house.....I had to circulate the air and it only helped if I stayed outside. There was sneezing, coughing and headaches in my house. I still smell like a rose garden, after two baths. I couldn't keep it on the whole four hours, only two-half hours. It tans ok, no streaking, even though I bathed way too soon. I will never use this product again, because I don't feel like its healthy for my children to breath, nor myself. I will continue to use BBW products including the Gradual Tanner."
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:Cancer Free
Maryland
I am a: Beauty Naturalist
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
AMAZING PRODUCT!!!
Posted: April 2, 2014
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I purchased this product hoping it would turn out like everyone else has said it would, and it does! I can never tan in the sun or a tanning bed due to cancer (i have never done either in my life) and I love having a tan. I have been using this product for about 2 weeks now and I am defiantly tan and not over doing it. I use the lotion every other day some times every 2 days depending on how I feel my tan looks. I use regular BBW lotion on my ankles, knees, and elbows (most common areas that will turn orange if not) when I use the lotion. On the days I do not use the tanning lotion, I just use regular lotion where I have tanned and it helps bring out the tan even more. I exfoliate every 3 days to help keep my tan looking nice. I absolutely love this product!"
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:Upstate College Gal
Upstate, New York
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Stop Your Search!
Posted: March 5, 2014
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I'm the kind of girl who likes to be tan all year round. Pale skin just does't do it for me. I used to frequent tanning beds, but after a couple of uncomfortable burns, I decided lotion would have to be my new option. My mom recommended Strike Gold to me back in high school. It's been about four years of continual use with this product, and I'm still quite happy. After I shower, I apply a regular lotion first (any B&BW product will work) and then apply Strike Gold on top of that. This keeps the streaking issue from occurring. I also apply the Strike Gold lotion every other day to ensure the streaks don't appear and my skin stays tan without over-doing it. Finally, I exfoliate often in the shower to remove dead skin and excess lotion. This keeps my skin looking fresh overall and it's simply healthier for my skin! As with many other beauty regimes, you have to find the best application process for you and only you, as every body is different."
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:TLady
NJ
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Awesome product
Posted: February 27, 2014
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"This was an impulse buy for me, to finish my True Blue buy two get one. I'd never used self tanner before, but I don't tan well naturally and I hated being ghostly in the middle of summer. I used it once and wow. It left me with a nice, natural glow. I didn't have any problems with streaking and it didn't leave me looking like an oompa loompa. Plus the scent is really pleasant. It isn't completely perfect, though; it takes a while to dry enough that I'm not afraid of it ruining my clothes. You have to wash your hands REALLY thoroughly afterwords, or you'll have orange all around your nails that takes forever to get off. And finally, after a week or so when it starts to fade, it actually fades streaky (or maybe I just scrub too hard with my loofa). Will definitely be repurchasing for this summer."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:KelleyCMH
Columbus, OH
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
The best yet!
Posted: September 7, 2013
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I've been using this product for years, as I think it's the best value on the market. I was pleasantly surprised a couple of weeks ago when I noticed the pleasing fragrance - I never thought that self-tanning lotion could actually smell good. Thank you for an amazing product!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:Remedy
Oregon
I am a: Beauty Maven
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Orange
Posted: August 8, 2013
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
"When I first tried it, I absolutely loved it. It barely changed the color of my skin but in a few days I looked tan, but one day when I put it on, it made me go completely orange and I cannot find a way to go back. It went from a natural looking tan to Snooki in a day. I'm so disappointed now."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:ShellBeach
Michigan
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Going for the bronze
Posted: July 13, 2013
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
"I use both Glow & Steady and Strike Gold to get my tan.
I use the other to give my legs a "base color" so I don't go from "ghost" to "golden" in an instant- people would definitely notice.
Strike Gold is definitely my favorite though because unlike Glow & Steady it doesn't develop into that highly noticeable, stinky "self tanner" smell after a few hours. So I can apply it during the day or at night, or apply two layers in one day.
I've never had this turn me orange, only a lovely shade of bronze- even after multiple layers. Bear in mind it reacts to your body chemistry- not everyone is meant to turn bronze with the same self-tanner!
"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:xoPanda
WA
I am a: Luxury Lover
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Time consuming
Posted: July 1, 2013
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
"Despite the positive reviews, I found this product rather disappointing. I took all the necessary steps prior to application (exfoliating, moisturizing, etc) but the color pay-out was very poor considering the time invested to apply & dry. I'm fair skinned with yellow undertones, tried the product 2-3 times with ONE layer to thoroughly test it and every time there was hardly a difference, so i tried again using two layers; rubbing it in, rubbing the other leg, then applying another layer over both after the first had settled. The color achieved was much better, a beautiful, light golden tan (no orange..yay!) but it took HOURS to dry. Applied the 2 layer process again last night and waited 'only' 3 hours, not touching ANYTHING to my legs and double checking for an even application, before going to bed but awoke with mild streaking. All the other times I've used it, I pretty much waited all day for them to dry (even when only one layer was used) and didn't have a problem...other than the unsettling feeling of ruining the tan with my clothes, the couch, or anything else that came in contact with my legs. As if that wasn't enough, it fades rather quickly, needing to repeat the process every 5-6 days.
I thought it should be noted that i DO NOT live in a humid climate and also believe a blow dryer might help resolve the issue but didn't want to deal with that as well. Overall, this product just wasn't worth the time and hassle to maintain.. sadly, this was returned."
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:CourtATL
Atlanta, GA
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
The most amazing product EVER
Posted: June 21, 2013
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I LOVE LOVE LOVE this stuff!!!! It is all I use year round. Never sit in the sun, never go to tanning beds, yet I have people asking me "where did you go to get that tan?" WELL, I WENT TO BATH AND BODY WORKS!!!! It is the ONLY stuff i'll use because the color is so natural and I've never had any streaks. This is a legit miracle product!!!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:Anonymous
SAINT BERNARD, LA
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
BEST I EVER USED AND I USED ALMOST EVERYONE MADE
Posted: May 14, 2013
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
"LET ME START BY SAYING THE CHICK WHO SAID SHE LOOKS LIKE AN ORANGE,, ITS PROBABLY BECAUSE ,.... YOU FORGOT THIS SMALL BUT POWERFUL MUST DO PRIOR TIP..... FIRST BATHE ( USING A BODY SCRUB FOR DEAD SKIN ROMOVAL , SHAVE N DO THE GIRLY THING) ....DRY OF WELL... APPLY A VERY GOOD MOIST. LOTION ( I APPLY PURE VITAMIN E CREAM NON GREASY BUT HEAVY MOSITURE ) GET IT AT DOLLAR GENERAL FOR 2.00.......SECOND MAKE SURE TO APPLY A GOOD AMOUNT BEHIND KNEES , KNEES CAPS AND ANKLES...LET DRY COMPLETELY...THEN YOU APPLY THE TANNER I USE..VIT E ....GRAD TANNER, THEN THE BRONZ FAST TANN. COMES OUT LOOKING LIKE I WAS AT THE BEACH.. U CAN ALSO USE A MICRO FIBER MIT TO MAKE IT EVEN MORE NATURAL. REMEMBER THIS ISNT A SUN KISSED BAKING TAN SOMEONE TOOK 3 YRS TO ACHIEVE AND YOU DID IT IN ONE NIGHT OUT OF A BOTTLE ... IT TAKES TIME , PATIENCE AND DECIDATION.. IF YOU DONT HAVE THAT... GO PAY FOR A TANNING BED.... BUT THIS EVER STOPS SELLING IM GOING TO LITERALLY CRY... THIS IS HOW I STAY TAN ALL YEAR ROUND. N LOOKS VERY NATURAL... U MUST APPLY IT CORRECTLY... I ALSO GOT 3 OTHER PPL USING THIS N THEY LOVE IT"
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:Auri
Cape Cod
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
I look like an orange dreamsicle!!
Posted: April 24, 2013
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
"Let me start by saying, this product, as far as self tanners go, smells great. I also love the fact it has an instant bronzer so you see exactly where you've 'tanned' already, it don't streak, it also has an awesome shimmer to it!! I WANT to love this stuff!! BUT... Sadly it has two downfalls first time you apply it it don't leave you with much color at all, second time I used it it turned me the scary shade of orange :( I went through all the prep for self tanning, exfoliated, moisturized, used gloves, used on dry skin in dry room etc... but I'm still orange :( It makes me sad because I LOVE bath and body works, and I really thought it would turn me a nice shade of brown"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:AndreaC44
Orlando, FL
I am a: Beauty Ally
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
The only self-tanner I'll use!
Posted: April 18, 2013
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"As an extremely fair-skinned girl living in Florida, I absolutely need a little bit of color to get through our year-round shorts-and-dresses weather. I have tried many different brands of tanner, but this is the ONLY one that leaves me with a natural, truly tan look - and no orange undertones! This formula smells better than other brands, never streaks, and leaves me with a lovely bronze glow as soon as I apply it. I have recommended it to many friends and they love it as much as I do. If you're on the fair side, this is a foolproof way to look like you spent a day at the beach!"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:J Modern RN
Portland, OR
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Best Sunless Tanner
Posted: April 1, 2013
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I love, love, love the Bronzing Self-tanning lotion. It has a light fragrance (no disgusting chemical smells). It's light weight so it doesn't sweat off or streak. The instant bronzing helps to know where you've applied it and gives legs/arms (that haven't seen the sun in a while) a nice subtle glow, perfect for last minute needs too. I get compliments on my "nice tan" all the time, when I tell people its from a sunless tanner, they are shocked at how natural it looks. No umpa lumpa orange skin from this product! I have tried several different tanners from drug stores, Sephora, Victorias's Secret, and this is hands-down the best. Give it a try!"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bronzing Self-Tanning Lotion with Vitamin E - Strike Gold
Reviewed by:Nicoola
Canada
I am a: Spa Lover
Usage: monthly
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Easy to use!
Posted: March 20, 2013
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I have used a lot of other self tanning lotions before and this is by far the best one I have ever used! Its easy to use, no streaks or lines, and dries quickly! Love this stuff!"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.