Product Reviews

True Blue Spa Bronzing Self-Tan Lotion - Strike Gold

Tan with a tantalizing tropical fragrance!
Average Customer Rating:
3.786 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
10 of 14(71%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for True Blue Spa Bronzing Self-Tan Lotion - Strike Gold
Review 1 for Bronzing Self-Tan Lotion - Strike Gold
Posted: July 12, 2015
Reviewed by:EarlGreyHot
New York, NY
I am a: Spa Lover
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Best faux tan I've ever had
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
"First off, I'm really glad I ignored the reviews that said the smell was too horrible to deal with and went ahead a bought a tube of the tanning lotion. So glad. I went from pretty pale (very fair skin/blonde;not too pink in tone) to very nicely tan. It looks like I was out at the beach for the weekend. Even my fiancé was fooled that my tan wasn't due to the sun. No UV induced tan = good in my book. (Btw, I think the scent is like a sweet piña colada....like caramelized pineapple and toasted marshmallow. It's really not bad. It's as strong as other B&BW lotion scents like peach Bellini, so if you're used to the dosage of lotion perfume from B&BW, then it won't be a shock for you.)
This is the first time I've even had a successful experience with a sunless tanner; every other time I've gone orange. This one definitely keeps you in the brown range. I wanted to see how it would look with a second application, and so far so good. No splotchy spots and still a realistic tan color. I made sure that I exfoliated throughly with a sugar scrub, dried off completely, and put thick body cream on knees/elbows/ankles like the directions outlined before applying the tanning lotion. Washed my hands with the scrub and soap and avoided weirdly colored palms. My only gripe is that the tanning lotion includes a bronzer in the formulation. Yes, you can see it go on your skin and it's a good indicator of how well you're rubbing it in....but it imparts a bit of shimmer that I don't necessarily want. It's fine for a night out....but for me, it's a little too high school 1999 for being at home playing spa day on a weekend. No harm, as I just took a quick shower to wash off after the 4 hours were over.
TL;DR: Great experience....I'm back on the website to get another tube of this stuff."
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bronzing Self-Tan Lotion - Strike Gold
Posted: July 8, 2015
Reviewed by:Brittanie.sp
Tx
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Dry
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
"I used to use this product many years ago and it worked so well on my skin so recently I decided to give it another shot because I got tired of being pale. The first day I put it on all was good and it looked great. However the more I applied it I realized my skin started to dry out and start peeling off the self tan. Then I noticed the back of my knees were completely white and the self tanner didn't stay on them... I used to never have this problem with the lotion, that's why I went ahead and bought three of the bottles however this is happening and im not sure what I can do to make it look better."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bronzing Self-Tan Lotion - Strike Gold
Posted: June 17, 2015
Reviewed by:Megs1
Washington, DC
I am a: Spa Lover
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Smell wayyy too strong!
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
"This is an amazing tanning product. The tinted formula glides on and gives an amazing bronze color, and it doesn't streak. It reminds me of a department store brand self-tanning lotion that was my favorite that was discontinued long ago. However, the SMELL of Strike Gold is so strong, it kept giving me bad headaches. The smell is fine (pineapple) if it were a much lighter version. I reluctantly and sadly had to return it. If it wasn't for the strong scent I would have bought a 100 of these. Please BBW, make the scent of this lighter! It is an amazing product if not for the scent!"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bronzing Self-Tan Lotion - Strike Gold
Posted: May 7, 2015
Reviewed by:FaithHopeLove
USA
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Pleasantly Surprised
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
"I bought this product on a whim and I have to say that I am pleasantly surprised by the results. In about 4 hours I went from a fair/pale skin color to a nice bronzed glow without looking streaky or orange. Contrary to other reviews I do not find the smell of this product to be unpleasant…it reminds me the coconut leaves candle mixed with a hint of pineapple. When I applied the product I followed the instructions on the package, and used disposable gloves to avoid discoloring my hands. This worked like a charm. I will definitely continue to purchase this product. Good job bbw!!"
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bronzing Self-Tan Lotion - Strike Gold
Posted: January 21, 2015
Reviewed by:noel luna
Nyc
Overall Overall Rating Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
The OLD scent of coconut was amazing
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
"I used to love this product, now I think I may have to stop using it.It used to deliver a nice light tan that was very natural looking and I used it every few days to keep a nice glow up AND as a fragrance.
The new pineapple smell is terrible.I got compliments on the coconut smell all the time and noone had any idea what I was wearing...everyone wanted my perfume!!!Noone would ever guess it was a self tanner.i am so upset that they changed the fragrance and the formula also seems different.Very disappointing...!
I had bought up about 12 of the coconut ones when it was being discontinued and now I'm out and had to resort to trying the new one and yuck ...the smell is awful...I am done with this product which used to be my favorite product that I very much depended on...I hope that bath and body works is listening!!!!Why would they change that wonderful fragrance??? ... Everyone loved it!!!!I also saw another reviewer mention the same problem...terrible strong plasticy smell!!!!It would be one thing if the fragrance was changed but to go from something that was amazing to a fragrance that is intolerable and cheap /fake smelling is very disappointing from this company...!
"
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bronzing Self-Tan Lotion - Strike Gold
Posted: July 5, 2014
Reviewed by:Live2shop
Orlando, FL
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Highly recommend
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I love this product. I have used numerous self tanners, but this is the best I've ever used. The color is gorgeous on my fair skin, and lasts longer than other self-tanners that I've used. I usually use once a week to keep my tan going all summer. I exfoliate and moisturize prior to usage and use a dab of vaseline on my knees, heels, and elbows. I do wish the product were unscented because it doesn't match any of the body sprays/lotions that I use, but the aroma seems to fade quickly after application, so is not an issue for me. I certainly don't notice that it's long lasting in the room where I apply it, as someone else noted."
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bronzing Self-Tan Lotion - Strike Gold
Posted: June 24, 2014
Reviewed by:Mrs Qball
Mountville, PA
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
LOVE! LOVE! LOVE!
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I love this product! I have a hard time tanning evenly so when I came across Strike Gold I fell in love! I've been using for a couple of years now and I'm sure for many more. Happy tanning everyone :)"
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bronzing Self-Tan Lotion - Strike Gold
Posted: June 22, 2014
Reviewed by:Loves the beach
Holt, Missouri
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Love the tan I get with this product!
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
"Being fair skinned I don't tan well. I have used this product for several years and love it! People will compliment me on my tan and are surprised when I tell them it is a self tanner! I love how it goes on with the color so you can see where you have applied. My only issue is the new scent. Previous years when I have purchased this product the scent has been a dreamy coconut tropical scent which was not overpowering, but very appealing to me. This year's product has a new scent that I personally do not care for. It does seem overpowering and I'm not sure if I can continue to use the product because of the smell. Love the tan I achieve, but miss the coconut scent."
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bronzing Self-Tan Lotion - Strike Gold
Posted: June 1, 2014
Reviewed by:Airing out
North Carolina
I am a: High Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Way TOO harsh of a smell!!!!!!
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
"I had tried the Gradual Tanner, the smell isn't the best, but no where near as HARSH as the Strike Gold Tanner. The smell is overwhelming! The odor was suffocating in my house.....I had to circulate the air and it only helped if I stayed outside. There was sneezing, coughing and headaches in my house. I still smell like a rose garden, after two baths. I couldn't keep it on the whole four hours, only two-half hours. It tans ok, no streaking, even though I bathed way too soon. I will never use this product again, because I don't feel like its healthy for my children to breath, nor myself. I will continue to use BBW products including the Gradual Tanner."
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bronzing Self-Tan Lotion - Strike Gold
Posted: April 2, 2014
Reviewed by:Cancer Free
Maryland
I am a: Beauty Naturalist
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
AMAZING PRODUCT!!!
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I purchased this product hoping it would turn out like everyone else has said it would, and it does! I can never tan in the sun or a tanning bed due to cancer (i have never done either in my life) and I love having a tan. I have been using this product for about 2 weeks now and I am defiantly tan and not over doing it. I use the lotion every other day some times every 2 days depending on how I feel my tan looks. I use regular BBW lotion on my ankles, knees, and elbows (most common areas that will turn orange if not) when I use the lotion. On the days I do not use the tanning lotion, I just use regular lotion where I have tanned and it helps bring out the tan even more. I exfoliate every 3 days to help keep my tan looking nice. I absolutely love this product!"
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bronzing Self-Tan Lotion - Strike Gold
Posted: March 5, 2014
Reviewed by:Upstate College Gal
Upstate, New York
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Stop Your Search!
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I'm the kind of girl who likes to be tan all year round. Pale skin just does't do it for me. I used to frequent tanning beds, but after a couple of uncomfortable burns, I decided lotion would have to be my new option. My mom recommended Strike Gold to me back in high school. It's been about four years of continual use with this product, and I'm still quite happy. After I shower, I apply a regular lotion first (any B&BW product will work) and then apply Strike Gold on top of that. This keeps the streaking issue from occurring. I also apply the Strike Gold lotion every other day to ensure the streaks don't appear and my skin stays tan without over-doing it. Finally, I exfoliate often in the shower to remove dead skin and excess lotion. This keeps my skin looking fresh overall and it's simply healthier for my skin! As with many other beauty regimes, you have to find the best application process for you and only you, as every body is different."
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bronzing Self-Tan Lotion - Strike Gold
Posted: February 27, 2014
Reviewed by:TLady
NJ
I am a: Fragrance Lover
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Awesome product
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"This was an impulse buy for me, to finish my True Blue buy two get one. I'd never used self tanner before, but I don't tan well naturally and I hated being ghostly in the middle of summer. I used it once and wow. It left me with a nice, natural glow. I didn't have any problems with streaking and it didn't leave me looking like an oompa loompa. Plus the scent is really pleasant. It isn't completely perfect, though; it takes a while to dry enough that I'm not afraid of it ruining my clothes. You have to wash your hands REALLY thoroughly afterwords, or you'll have orange all around your nails that takes forever to get off. And finally, after a week or so when it starts to fade, it actually fades streaky (or maybe I just scrub too hard with my loofa). Will definitely be repurchasing for this summer."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bronzing Self-Tan Lotion - Strike Gold
Posted: September 7, 2013
Reviewed by:KelleyCMH
Columbus, OH
I am a: Low Maintenance
Usage: daily
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
The best yet!
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I've been using this product for years, as I think it's the best value on the market. I was pleasantly surprised a couple of weeks ago when I noticed the pleasing fragrance - I never thought that self-tanning lotion could actually smell good. Thank you for an amazing product!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bronzing Self-Tan Lotion - Strike Gold
Posted: August 8, 2013
Reviewed by:Remedy
Oregon
I am a: Beauty Maven
Usage: weekly
Something I: purchased for myself
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Orange
Overall Fragrance Appeal Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
"When I first tried it, I absolutely loved it. It barely changed the color of my skin but in a few days I looked tan, but one day when I put it on, it made me go completely orange and I cannot find a way to go back. It went from a natural looking tan to Snooki in a day. I'm so disappointed now."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.