Product Reviews

Wexler Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser

Deep cleans without over-drying, maintains vital hydration and gently removes eye makeup
Average Customer Rating:
3.65 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
14 of 20(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wexler Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Review 1 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:MIAGuy
Miami, FL
My Age: 35-44
Usage: daily
Skin Type: combination
Overall Overall Rating Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
First Review
Posted: November 24, 2013
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
"I am a man of few words, so here are my thoughts on this product. Smells good, feels good going on, but don't see any difference from brand name facial cleansers bought at Walgreen's. Will not reorder."
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:Webster3
Wyoming
Skin Type: acne-prone
Overall Overall Rating Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Cleanser
Posted: October 31, 2013
Overall Price Value Rating
2 of 5
2 of 5
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I tried this cleanser after the acnostat line was no longer available. It was a huge disappointment. I'll use up the Wexler products that I currently have but I won't purchase any others. The anti-aging products are not comparable to the acnostat products. Goodbye Wexler."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:Sissi24
VA
My Age: 18-24
Usage: daily
Skin Type: oily
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Worst purchase ever
Posted: June 14, 2013
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
"This is my first review. And I am very disappointed.
Cleanser ineffective.
"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:temaj
Maine
My Age: 35-44
Skin Type: combination
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
OK
Posted: May 10, 2013
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
"This cleanser works well as a cleanser and eye make up remover. It is a second place to the Acnescription line.
The Acnescription line was a perfect line for those of us who want to keep our skin from aging and still have breakouts!
I created an account so I could write to say that I've seen many comments and requests regarding the Acnescription line but never an answer. NO statements about it being discontinued or information if it will be brought back. That's bad business Patricia Wexler! Many people loved the Acnescription line, and it worked! We want to know if it's coming back and when! The stores know nothing!"
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:Flygirl3672
San Diego, CA
My Age: 35-44
Usage: daily
Skin Type: normal
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Cleanser
Posted: April 28, 2013
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
"No complaints with the cleanser. It doesn't dry me out and I've tried expensive and economical cleansers. I've used for 2yrs with great success. I do not wear foundation, powders or bronzers at all. Wexler has really balanced out my skin."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:ArtzGirl8
San Diego, CA
My Age: 45-54
Usage: daily
Skin Type: sensitive
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Outstanding Product - Love the Fragrance
Posted: April 6, 2013
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"With my background as a professional makeup artist and image consultant, I'm one of those people who has tried a LOT of skin care products... this is one of THE BEST cleansers that I have EVER tried. I love the texture of this product and the light fragrance that makes you feel heavenly clean while washing your face in the morning or evening. This product does the trick removing makeup - and although I prefer to use a separate eye makeup remover, in a pinch (like on a trip or at the gym) this product is gentle enough where it can even be used to remove eye makeup.
My skin is super sensitive - and very fair. Estheticians always say that I have the English/Irish Rose complexion - which is prone to occasional acne and Rosacea. With this delicate skin type, I have to be extremely careful with using new products and over time, can become sensitive to even the best products.
This product is A Plus. I really love the way that it makes my skin FEEL, not drying or overly harsh - and not overly moisturizing... but just right. I particularly like the glow that my skin has after using it. It definitely allows the skin to breathe, and does a great job of bringing the soft and delicate coloring to the surface of the skin, without making me look like I am red as a beet!
Great product! This product is truly fabulous! You would have to really leap significantly in price to find something better. La Prairie makes an excellent cleanser, but for the price-- this product is just as good and really does a great job cleaning the skin and has a very pleasant fragrance/aroma that makes you feel as if you are totally pampering yourself!
Love it!"
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:rhianna.s
Fort Lewis, WA
My Age: 18-24
Usage: daily
Skin Type: combination
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Bring back Acnescription Exfoliating Cleanser!
Posted: March 5, 2013
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I bought the Universal Anti-Aging cleanser thinking it was the Acnescription cleanser. The cleanser isn't grainy, so it doesn't exfoliate. But, I've been using this product and the skin brightening moisturizer for two days now and there is an improvement.
When I started using Wexler's Acnescription line, and within a few days I noticed a huge improvement. My skin had a brighter complexion and it was much clearer. I love the Wexler line, but I don't think I should be using Anti-Aging cleansers because I still have young skin. I'm only 19. I'd be much more comfortable buying something like the Acnescription because it's main target was to reduce, prevent, and clear acne."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:Jenny330
Texas
My Age: 35-44
Usage: daily
Skin Type: combination
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Disappointed
Posted: January 21, 2013
Overall Performance Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
"I am highly disappointed that this product no longer has any exfoliating qualities. I used to purchase this because it seemed to get rid of that dull, top layer of skin and it gave my skin a nice, dewy quality. Now it is no better than a cleanser I could get at the drug store for less money, and without having to order online or drive to the next town to go to Bath & Body Works. Why in the world this was changed, I have no idea. This is absolutely nothing special without the exfoliating aspects."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:OrlRealtor
Orlando, FL
My Age: 25-34
Usage: daily
Skin Type: oily
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Melts makeup
Posted: November 23, 2012
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I'm 30 and have very oily skin. I was nervous to use this cleanser because it is very moisturizing. I thought I'd break out. Quite the opposite. I use this and only this at night to take off my makeup. It melts through my heavy foundation, glitter eyeshadow, wet eyeliner, and long wear lipstick. It doesn't leave you with the squeaky clean feeling I was used to, but my skin has never looked better. Note: if you wear fake lashes you will still need to use a little elbow grease to get the glue off of your lash line. MUCH MORE AFFORDABLE THAN MOST BRANDS!!!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:Former Buyer
VA
My Age: 35-44
Usage: daily
Skin Type: acne-prone
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
What Happened
Posted: November 21, 2012
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
"I bought this online thinking it was the acne exfoliator. The bottles looked the same and I didn't realize my mistake until I used it. It's a totally different product. My face didn't feel very clean.
It might be okay, but it is not the acne exfoliator. What a great product that was. It was one of the few cleansers that kept my adult acne at bay. Why did you discontinue this product line? I returned this Universal cleanser because it wasn't what I wanted and it doesn't work very well on my acne.
Bring back the acne line please!"
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:HEIDI01
DALLAS,TX
Overall Overall Rating Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
acne line
Posted: November 4, 2012
Overall Performance Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
1 of 5
1 of 5
"PLEASE BRING BACK THE WEXLER ACNE LINE OF PRODUCTS!!! I CAN'T FIND ANYTHING THAT WORKS AS WELL!!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:Tinakins
Chetek, WI
My Age: 35-44
Usage: daily
Skin Type: acne-prone
Overall Overall Rating Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Exfoliating Cleanser Please!
Posted: September 24, 2012
Overall Performance Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
"I have to say that I do not use this cleanser but am a long-time user of the Exfoliating Cleanser. Please begin offering this product again. It is the ONLY cleanser that I have found that works well with my combination skin and offers the exfoliation needed without drying or redenning my skin. It also keeps my acne prone skin very clear. I love it and cannot find anything else that compares."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:prettyone
Phoenix, Az
My Age: 45-54
Usage: daily
Skin Type: acne-prone
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
From someone with oily skin, it's just ok
Posted: September 21, 2012
Overall Performance Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
"If you've got normal or dry/aging skin, i'm sure this would work great, but I have acne oily skin in my 50's and need the acne cleanser. Why did you stop making it???? My guess is it worked too good ( at least for me ) and people didn't need anything more. It was the best acne/anti aging cleanser on the market. You have lost a solid customer."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:pishta10
florida
My Age: 45-54
Usage: daily
Skin Type: acne-prone
Overall Overall Rating Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Ok but like another
Posted: August 21, 2012
Overall Performance Rating
3 of 5
3 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
"Its good but not like the Acne Cleanser....please...please...please bring it back!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:Chemist
Michigan
My Age: 55-65
Usage: daily
Skin Type: combination
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Keeps me looking young!
Posted: July 3, 2012
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"Wexler's Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser is not only an excellent cleanser for my face, it removes all types of eye make-up with ease. I'm often told I look much younger than my age, perhaps it is due to the use of this cleanser. I never use soap on my face! Increasingly more difficult to obtain, I tried numerous other cleansers and eye make-up removers. None remove eye make-up and clean my face as nicely as this product does. I'm stocking up as rumor has it, Bath & Body Works may be phasing out the Wexler product line."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:sskite
Spokane WA
My Age: 35-44
Usage: daily
Skin Type: combination
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Great Line
Posted: June 7, 2012
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
4 of 5
4 of 5
"The other day I went to the Mall to pick up some more serum.. My husband said "honey, I think you look better now then you did a year ago." I just smiled, and replied, "Thanks, Honey, I've been using this brand for just over a year".. When I saw what it did for a friend, I just had to try it.. and I don't think I'll ever use anything else.. But where did the exfoliating acne cleanser go?? That was my favorite, and came online to order about 5 since I heard it was being discontinued. I was too late!!"
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:Scooter1
NC
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Posted: June 21, 2011
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I love this cleanser. I would highly recommend to anyone with sensitive combination skin."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:Anonymous
Moraine, OH
My Age: 55-65
Usage: daily
Skin Type: dry
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Wexler Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Posted: June 17, 2011
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"Great product! Leaves your face feeling moisturized as well as clean. Gentle enough that you can also use it to remove your eye make up. I have recommended this product to family and friends."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:CiCi F.
Moraine, OH
My Age: 55-65
Usage: daily
Skin Type: dry
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Great Product
Posted: June 16, 2011
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"I love this cleanser. My face feels exceptionally clean and also moisturized at the same time. The great thing is that I know longer need to buy eye makeup remover because this cleanser is so gentle I can use it to remove eye makeup as well as cleanse my face. I have recommended this product and all of the Wexler line to family and friends."
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Universal Anti-Aging Cleanser
Reviewed by:Beach Mom
Huntington Beach, CA
My Age: 45-54
Usage: daily
Skin Type: combination
Overall Overall Rating Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Only Cleanser I'll Use
Posted: May 23, 2011
Overall Performance Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Ease of Use Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
Overall Price Value Rating
5 of 5
5 of 5
"After receiving a sample of the one of the Wexler products, I tried the whole starter kit and my favorite two items are this cleanser and the serum. My skin is immediately soothed and refreshed when I use this cleaner. I am 49 years old, but my skin used to get breakouts. That had been the case for many years. Now it's not too oily and not too dry; it's just perfectly balanced. It is very unusual now for me to have any breakouts at all, and my skin looks much younger than it's age. I've recommended this cleanser to my teenage daughter, and she loves it too because it's effective without overdrying, and rinses easilly."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.